A campervan adventure in the Jura

In France, you can still find wild spaces inciting to all kinds of adventures. The Jura region is one of them. Shall we add that, if you wish to take full advantage of this wilderness and the many mountain outdoor activities available there, either in winter or summer, there is no such thing as a nice campervan roadtrip.

Spreading over the Franche-Comté cultural area, the Jura Range rises over the Ain, Doubs and Jura departments. Less than one hour away from WeVan Basel-Mulhouse rental agency, you reach the Jura from the north. In the colorful Montbéliard, you'll enjoy visiting the dukes of Wurtemberg Castle or more, the Peugeot Museum. Indeed, the lion comes from the Montbéliard region itself... Hit the road again until Morteau. There, do not miss out the famous local specialties : Morteau Sausage and Comté cheese, and while you're at it, the fearsome Croute aux Morilles and the all dependable Jambon Rusti.

After your feast, if you can still stand, make your way to the Saut du Doubs, an awesome waterfall in Villers-le-Lac. A regional must is cross-country skiing or snowshoeing, deep in forests of fir trees right by the place called the Gardot on the Franco-Swiss border. After your exertions, head to the Neuchâtel Lake in Switzerland. A most splendid panoramic view of the Alps will reward any stroll amongst the vineyards that fringe the lake. South of the Neuchâtel Lake, drive back up to France on narrow winding roads towards the Col des Etroits. Don't worry, your campervan behaves like a sedan. Go to Métabief ski resort, at the base of the Mont d'Or, birthplace of the same-named cheese. Not far way at the Saint-Point Lake, on the Doubs river, alls kinds of nautical activities await you: sailing, canoë, fishing, swimming... in summer only, of course. In winter, you'll be able to go ice skating since most Jura lakes freeze solid. A few kilometers away to the south-east of Métabief, you'll drive into the Mouthe Valley. Called “ Little Siberia “ for its winter extreme temperatures, Mouthe broke France's lowest temperature records with a –36,7 degrees in january 1968. Fortunately, your campervan comes with an auxiliary heating and what's more, it wouldn't be true adventure without blizzard and snow, would it ?... Mouthe is also where thousands of competitors each year pass the « Transjurassienne »  finishing line, a cross-country skiing race starting off at Lamoura 68 km away.

Continue your campervan journey towards Morbier, another big name in cheese, winding your way on narrow B roads. You'll pass close to Lac des Mortes (meaning the « Lake of the Dead », no kidding...) and Bellefontaine Lake, a hiking playground at the heart of a Natura 2000 site. Jura is a hiking land endowed with many hiking tracks such as the GR5, GRJ or the GRP Tour de la Brienne and many other summer moutain activities : rafting, mountain biking, cycle touring, rock climbing, fishing... A stone throw from Morbier, les Rousses shelters Jura's best known medium range mountain winter resort. At the heart of Haut-Jura Regional Nature Reserve, The Monts Jura ski resort spreads over a huge ski area linked by 29 ski lifts to Lelex-Crozet, Mijoux-La Faucille, Menthières and La Vattay-La Valserine Nordic ski resort. Best of all, you'll be skiing  with outstanding views over Gex region, Lake Geneva and Mont Blanc. In summer, you can get a kick out of other adventures, like paragliding, moutain biking up the Col de la Faucille, hiking up and down Jura higher summits such as Crêt de la Neige, Jura's highest peak.When heading back to Basel-Mulhouse from Les Rousses, there are two options.

If you've been over wandering - isn't that inherent to vanlife ? - you can drive the Swiss highways back in only 3 hours along Lake Geneva, then along the eastern side of Neuchâtel Lake and past Berne, the Swiss capital city. You'll have to purchase the Swiss annual Highway Pass, compulsory even for a few hours' ride (around 40 euros, available in most gas stations). Otherwise, travel smaller rural routes back, winding down to the west of Jura via Saint-Claude, the banks of Lake Vouglans in Maisod, Clairvaux les Lacs, and then on to Arbois's renowned vineyards. Detour by the Royal Saltworks of Arc-et-Senans, a World heritage Site, before visiting Besançon and its famed citadel. We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure in the Jura from our WeVan rental location in Basel-Mulhouse

Aventures dans le Jura en van

Il est des régions en France qui ont su conserver leur caractère sauvage propice aux aventures diverses, c'est le cas du Jura. Et pour profiter à fond de ses grands espaces naturels et de ses nombreuses activités outdoor de montagne d'hiver et d'été, rien ne vaut un bon road-trip en van.

Situé dans la région culturelle de la Franche-Comté, le massif du Jura s'élève sur les départements de l'Ain, du Doubs et du Jura. A moins d'une heure de l'agence WeVan Bâle-Mulhouse, vous pénétrez dans le Jura par le Nord, à Montbéliard, son château des Ducs de Wurtemberg, ses maisons aux façades colorées ou encore la maison Peugeot. Et oui, le lion est originaire du Pays de Montbéliard... Rejoignez Morteau où vous ne manquerez pas de déguster les spécialités locales, la fameuse saucisse de Morteau, une croute au morilles ou un jambon Rusti, suivi bien sûr d'un bon morceau de Comté.

Après ces agapes, rendez-vous au Saut du Doubs, une impressionnante cascade à Villers le Lac, ou pour une balade à ski de fond ou en raquettes au Gardot, dans les profondes forêts de sapins, sur la frontière franco-suisse. Après l'effort, vous pouvez rejoindre le Lac de Neuchâtel, en Suisse, bordé de vignobles avec une superbe vue sur les Alpes. Au sud du Lac de Neuchâtel, remontez vers la France en empruntant les petites routes sinueuses jusqu'au Col des Etroits. Ne vous inquiétez pas, votre van de location se conduit comme une berline. Rejoignez la station de ski alpin de Métabief, au pied du Mont d'Or où est né le fromage éponyme. Non loin de là, le Lac de Saint-Point, sur le Doubs, vous attend pour toutes sortes d'activités nautiques, voile, canoë, pêche, baignade... en été, bien entendu. Sinon de nombreux lacs jurassiens sont gelés l'hiver et permettent la pratique du patin à glace. A quelques kilomètres au sud-ouest de Métabief, vous pénétrez dans le Val de Mouthe, appelé aussi la Petite Sibérie tellement il y fait froid l'hiver. Mouthe détient le record français, avec -36,7° en janvier 1968. Heureusement, votre fourgon aménagé de location est équipé d'un chauffage autonome et puis la neige et le blizzard font partie de l'aventure. Mouthe, c'est aussi la ligne d'arrivée de la Transjurassienne, une course de ski de fond de 68 km, entre Lamoura et Mouthe, qui regroupe chaque année plusieurs milliers de participants.

Poursuivez votre périple en van aménagé vers Morbier, un autre grand nom du fromage, par les petites départementales qui passent à proximité du Lac des Mortes (ça ne s'invente pas...) et du Lac de Bellefontaine où vous pourrez pratiquer la randonnée au coeur d'un site classé Natura 2000. Le Jura est une terre de randonnées et de nombreux itinéraires vous attendent : le GR5, le GRJ ou le GRP Tour de la Brienne et de bien d'autres activités de montagne en été : canyoning, VTT, cyclotourisme, escalade, pêche... Non loin de Morbier, vous rejoignez Les Rousses, la plus connue des stations de sports d'hiver de moyenne montagne du Jura, au coeur du Parc Naturel Régional du Haut-Jura. Son domaine skiable, relié avec ceux de Lelex-Crozet, Mijoux-La Faucille et Menthières et la station nordique de La Vattay-La Valserine, constituent la station Monts Jura, un vaste domaine avec 29 remontées mécaniques. Et, cerise sur le gâteau, vous skiez face à d'exceptionnels panoramas sur le Pays de Gex, le Lac Léman, Genève et le Mont-Blanc. L'été, d'autres aventures vous attendent, une descente en parapente, la montée du Col de la Faucille en vélo, le parcours des crêtes culminantes du Jura, avec notamment le Crêt de la Neige, le plus haut sommet du Jura.Pour votre retour vers Bâle-Mulhouse depuis Les Rousses, vous avez deux solutions.

Si vous avez un peu trop flâné (flânerie et vanlife ne seraient-ils pas synonymes ?), vous pouvez rentrer en moins de 3 heures par les autoroutes suisses, le long du Lac Léman, puis du Lac de Neuchâtel, en passant à côté de Berne, la capitale suisse. Vous devrez juste acheter la vignette annuelle obligatoire pour emprunter les autoroutes suisses, même pendant quelques heures... Sinon, rentrez par le chemin des écoliers, en empruntant les petites routes qui remontent à l'ouest du Jura, via Saint-Claude, les berges du Lac de Vouglans à Maisod, Clairvaux les Lacs, puis Arbois et ses vignobles réputés. Faîtes un détour par la Saline Royale d'Arc et Senans, inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco, avant de visiter Besançon et sa fameuse citadelle.Pour votre périple en van aménagé, dans le Jura, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Bâle-Mulhouse.