Escape to Holland in a van

Breda is just two hours from Lille by car and it's a great place to start your tour of the Netherlands, a country that's especially welcoming to campervans.

Begin by exploring Breda, with its many monumental buildings, including the Grote Kerk. While you might guess it means Grotto Church, it actually means Grand Church. Get a drink at one of the many cafés in the city and immerse yourself in the welcoming ambiance that's unique to Nordic countries.
Continue your trip towards Utrecht, a university town that's been called the Netherlands' cultural treasure chest. Less than an hour away, you'll find Amsterdam, which is filled with canals, traditional houses, and attractions like the must-see Van Gogh Museum and the moving Anne Frank House. You'll enjoy wandering through little streets, over bridges, past bars... just watch out so you don't get knocked over by all the bicycles!

When you exit the north side of Amsterdam, your Volkswagen California will take you to the Zuiderzee Works and a road you can explore in your campervan or on your bicycle, the most popular local mode of transport. When you rent your campervan, you can also rent a bicycle rack so you can bring your own bicycles. You'll start on the Marken peninsula, making your way past incredible wooden houses. In the harbour, you'll be able to see the Lemsteraak, traditional flat-bottom sailboats. Once back on the road, head towards Monnickendam, a little historical town with traditional brick homes, then on to Edam-Volendam. As for cuisine, you'll want to sample Hollandse Nieuwe, a herring speciality that's popular with the locals, in one of the restaurants on the Dijk or dyke. Edam is also the name of a well-known cheese that you'll taste when you visit the former cheese warehouses. Gouda is the other famous Dutch cheese, but there are many others, like Mimolette and Maasdam.

From Amsterdam, you can also head to Noordoostpolder, or Northeast Polder, where you'll pass through immense tulip fields on your way to the town of Schokland, which is recognised as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The tulip is one of the Netherlands' national symbols and if you take your trip in spring, you won't want to miss the incredible Keukenhof, which is southwest of Amsterdam. It's one of the largest flower gardens in the world, with seven million bulb plants!
Another well-known Dutch symbol is the windmill. Zaanse Schans, located near Amsterdam, features the famous Zaandam windmills, which are still operating. You'll enjoy exploring them, as well as the area's green-painted wooden homes and little bridges.
In Kinderjik, near Rotterdam, you'll see 19 windmills built in the 18th century to manage the surrounding water and avoid flooding.
You may want to spend some time at one of the North Sea's seaside resorts so you can enjoy one of you favourite sports, like kitesurfing or land sailing. Or maybe just swimming in the refreshing water. In Zandvoort, Bloemendaal and Bergen aan Zee, you'll find an environment that's typical of northern beaches, including dunes. You'll love spending a nice evening relaxing outside, then sleeping well in your campervan bed by the sea.

We suggest you set off on your Dutch campervan adventure from our WeVan rental location in Lille.

Escapade hollandaise en van

Lille-Breda en voiture, c'est seulement 2h et vous entamerez votre périple dans les Pays-Bas, un pays particulièrement accueillant pour les vans aménagés.

Vous ferez une halte à Breda, avec ses nombreux monuments, dont la Grote Kerk, qui ne signifie pas Église de la Grotte, mais Grande Église...Vous boirez un pot dans les des nombreux cafés de la ville et vous immergerez de suite dans cette chaleureuse ambiance, si distinctive des pays du nord.

Vous poursuivrez votre voyage vers Utrecht, ville universitaire, surnommée « malle au trésor culturelle » des Pays-Bas. Moins d'une heure plus tard, vous arriverez à Amsterdam avec ses canaux, ses maisons si typiques, l'incontournable Musée Van-Gogh et l'émouvante Maison d'Anne Frank. Vous flânerez au gré des petites rues, des petits ponts, des bars, en faisant attention à ne pas vous faire renverser par les innombrables bicyclettes...

En sortant d'Amsterdam par le nord, votre Volkswagen California vous conduira à la découverte de la Route du Zuiderzee, un incontournable circuit que vous parcourrez à bord de votre fourgon aménagé ou en vélo, le moyen de transport national! Lors de la location de votre fourgon aménagé, vous pourrez louer aussi un porte-vélos, afin d'emporter vos propres vélos. Vous commencerez par la Presqu'île de Marken, avec ses ravissantes maisons en bois. Dans le port, vous y verrez des Lemsteraak, les voiliers traditionnels à fond plat. Vous reprendrez la route vers Monnickendam, une petite ville historique, avec ses maisons traditionnelles en briques, puis Edam-Volendam. Vous mangerez le Hollandse Nieuwe, une spécialité de hareng très appréciée des hollandais, dans un des restaurants de la Dijk ou digue. Edam, c'est aussi le nom d'un grand fromage que vous goûterez en visitant les anciens entrepôts de fromage. L'autre grand fromage hollandais, c'est le Gouda, mais il en existe bien d'autres, la Mimolette, le Maasdam...


Depuis Amsterdam, vous rejoindrez le Noordoostpolder ou Polder du Nord-Est où vous traverserez d'immenses champs de tulipe, jusqu'au village de Schockland, inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco. La tulipe, c'est l'un des symboles des Pays-Bas et si vous effectuez votre périple au printemps, vous ne manquerez pas de visiter l'incontournable Parc de Keukenhof, au sud-ouest d'Amsterdam, C'est le plus grand parc floral du monde, avec ses sept millions de plantes à bulbes !
Un autre symbole bien connu, c'est le moulin à vent. Aux environs d'Amsterdam, le village de Zaanse Schans, vous proposera, en plus de ses maisons en bois peintes en vert et ses petits ponts, les fameux Moulins de Zaandam, encore opérationnels.
À Kinderjik, à proximité de Rotterdam, vous verrez 19 moulins, construits au 18ème siècle, pour gérer les eaux environnantes et éviter les inondations.
Vous éprouverez peut-être l'envie de passer un moment dans l'une des stations balnéaires de la Mer du Nord, afin de pratiquer l'un de vos sports nautiques préférés, kite-surf, char à voile ou, plus simplement, vous baigner dans une eau vivifiante... À Zandvoort, Bloemendaal, Bergen aan Zee, vous trouverez l'ambiance si typique des plages du nord, dunes comprises, et vous serez ravis d'y passer une bonne soirée et une bonne nuit dans les couchettes de votre campervan, face à la mer.

Pour votre périple hollandais en van aménagé, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Lille.