Van Visit to Tarn and Aveyron

Your van trip starts in the charming little town of Rabastens, which is about an hour from Toulouse.

Your rental campervan will then take you through the Gaillac vineyard, one of the oldest in France, to the medieval bastides where the Cathars took refuge: Castelnau de Montmiral, ranked one of France's most beautiful cities, and the incomparable Cordes sur Ciel, a small hilltop town that sometimes emerges above a blanket of fog, a phenomenon from which its name derives ['ciel' means 'sky']. Gardening fans will want to visit the astonishing Jardin des Paradis, normal in Cordes sur Ciel. Then head back down through the magnificent episcopal city of Albi, Tarn's capital spreading out at its base. The town is nicknamed Albi the Red because of its redbrick houses. The Cathedral Basilica of Saint Cecilia is the largest brick cathedral in the world. Art lovers should visit the Toulouse-Lautrec Museum celebrating the Albi-born artist.


Then head on to Rodez, Aveyron's capital city. Its historic city centre is well worth a few hours. It also has several good museums, including the Soulages. Head back to your campervan, which will be impatient to get back on the road towards the northern part of the department with its collection of the Most Beautiful French Cities. Start in Conques, a can't-miss stop on the Route of Saint Jacques de Compostelle. In the Lot valley, check out Estaing and its imposing chateau, as well as Saint-Côme d'Olt and Sainte-Eulalie d'Olt, at the base of the Aubrac. Head back down towards Millau. If you take the A75 motorway, you can stop at Aire du Viaduc to see an incredible view of the Viaduc de Millau. Millau is the gateway to the famous Tarn Gorge where you can spend unforgettable evenings in your campervan after swimming in the Tarn. You'll enjoy watching the majestic vultures that live in the gorge as they take to the air, making the place even more magical. Drive up to the Causse du Larzac or the Causse Noir, large semi-desert limestone plateaus that are so beautiful to see. In the Grands Causses Natural Regional Park, visit the Roquefort sur Soulzon cheese cellars where the King of Cheeses, Roquefort, is ripened. Diderot gave this cheese its moniker in the 18th century.


Whether in Tarn or Aveyron, sports fans will have a blast, especially with water sports like canoeing, kayaking, canyoning, and swimming in the rivers or lakes that dot the region. Other activities include climbing, bicycling, mountain biking and hiking. As you turn back to Toulouse from Millau, you can choose to go through Albi, following the Tarn's meandering path. This takes you past Brousse le Château, named one of the most beautiful French towns, and impressive Ambialet, a town tucked into a bend in the Tarn that's so tight the city almost becomes a peninsula. You can also branch off towards the southern part of the Tarn department towards Castres where you can take a boat ride to admire Agoût's iconic houses with their colourful facades. Rugby is popular in Castres and in Toulouse. If you're lucky enough to be in one of these two cities during a home match, be sure to attend!

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure to Tarn and Aveyron from our WeVan rental location in Toulouse.

Le Tarn et l'Aveyron en van

Votre van-trip commencera par la charmante petite ville de Rabastens, à environ une heure de Toulouse.

Votre fourgon aménagé de location vous conduira ensuite à travers le vignoble de Gaillac, l'un des plus anciens de France, jusqu'aux bastides médiévales qui ont servi de refuge aux Cathares: Castelnau de Montmirail, classé parmi Les Plus Beaux Villages de France et l'incontournable Cordes sur Ciel, une petite cité perchée qui émerge parfois au-dessus d'une nappe de brume, d'où son nom. Les amoureux des beaux jardins visiteront l'étonnant Jardin des Paradis, normal à Cordes sur Ciel... Vous redescendrez ensuite vers la magnifique cité épiscopale d'Albi, chef-lieu du Tarn qui coule à ses pieds. Son surnom d'Albi la rouge, lui vient de l'omniprésence de la brique. La Cathédrale Sainte Cécile est la plus grande cathédrale en briques du monde. Les passionnés de peinture visiteront le Musée Toulouse-Lautrec, né à Albi.

 

Vous rejoindrez Rodez, chef-lieu de l'Aveyron. Son centre historique mérite que vous vous y attardiez quelques heures et là aussi, quelques beaux musées vous attendent, dont le musée Soulages. Vous retrouverez votre van aménagé qui piaffera d'impatience pour reprendre la route vers le nord du département et sa concentration de Plus Beaux Villages de France, à commencer par Conques, halte incontournable du Chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle, et dans la vallée du Lot, Estaing et son imposant château, Saint-Côme d'Olt et Sainte-Eulalie d'Olt, au pied de l'Aubrac. Vous redescendrez vers Millau et, si vous prenez l'autoroute A75, vous vous arrêterez à l'Aire du Viaduc, avec une vue imprenable sur le Viaduc de Millau. Millau, c'est la clef d'entrée vers les fameuses Gorges du Tarn où vous passerez d'inoubliables soirées dans votre campervan, après un bon bain dans le Tarn. Vous contemplerez le vol majestueux des vautours qui peuplent les gorges, rendant le lieu encore plus magique. Vous remonterez sur les causses, le Causse du Larzac ou le Causse Noir, des grands plateaux calcaires semi-désertiques si beaux à voir. Dans le Parc Naturel Régional des Grands Causses, vous visiterez les caves fromagères de Roquefort sur Soulzon, où est affiné le Roquefort, le Roi des Fromages, titre décerné par Diderot, au 18ème siècle.

Que ce soit dans le Tarn ou dans l'Aveyron, les sportifs seront à la fête, notamment tous les sports en eaux vives, le canoë-kayak, le canyoning, la baignade en rivières ou dans les lacs qui émaillent la région, l'escalade, le cyclisme, le VTT, sans oublier la randonnée. Pour le retour à Toulouse, depuis Millau vous aurez le choix de revenir par Albi en longeant les méandres du Tarn. Vous passerez par Brousse le Château, estampillé Plus Beau Village de France et l'impressionnant village d'Ambialet, niché sur une boucle du Tarn, si resserrée qu'elle en devient une presqu'île. Vous pourrez aussi bifurquer vers le sud du département du Tarn, en direction de Castres où vous naviguerez en gabarre pour admirer les façades colorées des maisons typiques sur l'Agoût. Castres, c'est aussi un grand club de rugby, tout comme Toulouse, et si vous avez la chance d'être présent dans l'une de ces deux villes, un jour de match à domicile, n'hésitez-pas !

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, dans le Tarn et l'Aveyron, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Toulouse.