Van Trip in the Southern Alps

The southern Alps are an immense playground in summer and winter, filled with all kinds of mountain activities, plus 300 days of sun during the year as a bonus.

The southern Alps also have rich architectural and cultural heritage. All the right conditions have come together for an excellent adventure in a rental campervan.
From Grenoble, climb towards the Col du Lautaret pass, after travelling through La Grave, a traditional town from which the Le Meije Glaciers cable cars depart, heading towards an altitude of 3200m. In the winter, you can make your way down on skis. In the summer, try rafting on the Romanche. From Col du Lautaret, Tour de France fans will want to make a pilgrimage to Col du Galibier. Head back down into the Guisane valley towards the largest winter sports resort in the southern Alps, the well-known Serre Chevalier. You'll arrive in Briançon with its Cité Vauban fortress. Those who love hiking will enjoy walking in the beautiful Vallée de la Clarée in Névache, where the larches turn yellow in autumn.

 

From Briançon, your agile campervan will take you on Col d'Izoard's switchbacks, another place where Tour de France riders suffer. This is the gateway to one of the most beautiful mountain regions in France: the Queyras Natural Regional Park where you can enjoy tons of activities in absolute harmony with the perfectly-preserved mountains: hiking, mountain biking, snowshoe trekking, ski touring and cross-country skiing. You'll also fall in love with the pretty towns of Arvieux and Saint-Véran. The latter is the highest community in Europe, located at 2000m and filled with old wooden houses. Make a stop in Château-Ville-Vieille to see the iconic Fort Queyras. You'll have so many options for your night parking spot in the little towns or overlooking grand landscapes. Continue your route through the impressive Gorges du Guil and unplug in Guillestre, near the Vars and Risoul resorts. You'll want to visit the impressive Fortress of Mont-Dauphin. It looks out over the Durance valley and is listed as a UNESCO world heritage site.


Next, you can head further up towards Ecrins National Park, or go south towards Lake Serre-Ponçon. To reach the Massif des Ecrins, your route will take you through L'Argentière-la-Bessée, where you can explore the silver mine museum. Continue through the Puy Saint-Vincent and Vallouise resort towns, ending at a cul de sac near the base of Mont Pelvoux and Barre des Ecrins, which reaches 4,102m into the sky. Climbing fans will find many routes here. After their efforts, they'll be glad to get back to their comfortable campervan, complete with a lounge area, fully-equipped kitchen and beds. Those who want to continue south will travel through Embrun, then Savines le Lac on the shores of Lake Serre-Ponçon, a large artificial lake that straddles the Hautes-Alpes and Alpes de Haute Provence departments. After these mountain activities, try some water activities, like sailing, windsurfing, water skiing and kayaking. Those who enjoy calmer activities can relax on the beaches and take a swim. And further south, explore Mercantour National Park and towns that have a real Provençal feel to them, like Digne les Bains and Sistéron.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure through the southern Alps from our WeVan rental locations in Lyon or Chambéry.

Van-trip dans les Alpes du Sud

Hiver comme été, les Alpes du Sud sont un immense terrain de jeux qui propose toutes les activités que l'on trouve en montagne, avec 300 jours de soleil par an, en prime.

Les Alpes du Sud, c'est aussi un riche patrimoine architectural et culturel. Toutes les conditions sont réunies pour un excellent périple en van aménagé de location.
Depuis Grenoble, vous grimperez vers le Col du Lautaret, en passant par La Grave, un village traditionnel d'où partent les Téléphériques des Glaciers de La Meije qui montent à 3200m d'altitude. L'hiver, vous pourrez redescendre en ski et l'été, découvrir le rafting sur la Romanche. Depuis le Col du Lautaret, les inconditionnels du Tour de France feront un pèlerinage au Col du Galibier. Vous redescendrez dans la Vallée de la Guisane, vers la plus grande station de sports d'hiver des Alpes du Sud, la très connue Serre Chevalier. Vous arriverez à Briançon et sa Cité Vauban. Les amoureux de la randonnée marcheront dans la belle Vallée de la Clarée à Névache, et ses mélèzes tout jaunes en automne.

Depuis Briançon, votre campervan enchaînera, avec dextérité, les lacets du Col d'Izoard, autre lieu de souffrance des coureurs du Tour de France et porte d'entrée sur l'une des plus belles régions montagneuses de France: le Parc Naturel Régional du Queyras où il fait bon pratiquer des activités en osmose avec la montagne, dans un site parfaitement préservé: la randonnée, le VTT, les raquettes, le ski de rando et le ski de fond... Vous tomberez sous le charme des jolis villages, Arvieux, Saint-Véran, la plus haute commune d'Europe à plus de 2000m et ses vieilles maisons en bois, Château-Ville-Vieille et son emblématique Fort Queyras. Vous aurez l'embarras du choix pour vos nightspots dans les petits villages ou face à des paysages grandioses. Vous poursuivrez votre route à travers les impressionnantes Gorges du Guil et déboucherez à Guillestre, au pied des stations de Vars et Risoul. Vous visiterez l'impressionnante Place Forte de Mont-Dauphin, inscrite au Patrimoine Mondial de l'Unesco, qui domine la Vallée de la Durance.


Vous aurez le choix de remonter vers le Parc National des Ecrins ou descendre plus au sud, vers le Lac de Serre-Ponçon. Pour rejoindre le Massif des Ecrins, votre route passera par L'Argentière la Bessée et son Musée des Mines d'Argent, les stations de Puy Saint-Vincent et Vallouise, pour finir en cul de sac au pied du Mont Pelvoux et de la Barre des Ecrins qui culmine à 4.102m. Les passionnés d'escalade y trouveront de nombreuses voies et après l'effort, ils seront ravis de retrouver le réconfort de leur fourgon aménagé, avec son coin salon, sa cuisine équipée et ses couchettes. Pour ceux qui auront choisi de poursuivre vers le sud, vous rejoindrez Embrun puis Savines le Lac, sur les bords du Lac de Serre-Ponçon, un grand lac artificel à cheval sur les départements des Hautes-Alpes et des Alpes de Haute Provence. Après les activités montagnardes, les activités nautiques : voile, planche à voile, ski nautique, kayak et pour les plus calmes, le farniente sur les plages et la baignade. Et encore plus au sud, le Parc du National du Mercantour et les villes qui fleurent bon la Provence : Digne les Bains, Sistéron...

Pour votre périple dans les Alpes du Sud, en van aménagé, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Lyon ou WeVan Chambéry.