Van Trip to the Verdon Gorge

Verdon Natural Regional Park is the ideal playground for an unforgettable campervan adventure. On your way there, you'll drive through lavender fields with cicadas as your soundtrack. You're in Provence, after all!

You'll drive along the magnificent Sainte-Croix Lake before entering the largest canyon in Europe: Verdon Gorge. The road snakes its way to the clifftop, overlooking the Gardon River. You'll appreciate the Volkswagen California's precise handling; it's as comfortable to drive as a car. The river looks quite small at the bottom of the canyon. But don't be fooled. It's deep enough for all kinds of whitewater sports. Canoes or kayaks are perfect for those who want to calmly glide down the Gardon. They'll really enjoy the breathtaking landscapes filled with enormous waterfalls and caves carved high into the cliffs. Everyone will feel dwarfed by the splendour. Those who want to get their blood pumping faster can opt for rafting, hydrospeeding or canyoning. You will get wet, but it feels so good because the sun is quite intense here.

The Verdon Gorge is also a great place for hiking. Another favourite activity is rock climbing on the spectacular cliffs. Fly fishing fans will be in heaven here. After all this exercise, you'll be glad to get back to your campervan for some well-deserved relaxation in the evening. Campervans are just as easy to park as cars, so you won't have any trouble finding exceptional spots to stop for the night. You'll unfold the outdoor chairs and table for an unforgettable aperitif before heading in to make an equally memorable dinner in your van's fully-equipped kitchen that includes a fridge, gas hob with two burners and sink.

For those who love to play tourist, you can head to the little town of Castellane, which features the impressive Notre Dame du Roc chapel, or to the hilltop villages that are typical of this region. Many of them were built and fortified on promontories in the Middle Ages where they kept a lookout for potential enemy incursions. You will enjoy visiting Le-Palud-sur-Verdon deep within the Gorge park, the Verdon Gorge Museum of Prehistory in Quinson, or the Ceramics Museum in Moustiers Sainte-Marie, one of the most beautiful towns in France.

Your rental van will take you to the region's beautiful lakes: Sainte-Croix Lake, Quinson Lake and the typical Provençal town of Montmeyan, and finally Esparron Lake. There, you can choose from a range of water sports based on how adventurous you're feeling. Choose swimming, paddle boating or electric boating for a calm activity. If you're feeling more courageous, try sailing!
On the way back, you won't be quite ready to leave your campervan, so take the backroads into Aix. Stop at Sillans-la-Cascade, a pretty town named after its stunning 44 m waterfall. You will also enjoy a detour to Cotignac, where troglodyte houses are carved into the tuff cliff.

We suggest you set off on your Verdon Gorge campervan adventure from our WeVan rental location in Aix en Provence.

Vantrip dans les Gorges du Verdon

Le Parc Naturel du Verdon, quel meilleur terrain de jeux, pour un inoubliable périple en van aménagé. Avant d'y parvenir, vous roulerez à travers les champs de lavande, accompagnés du chant des cigales, vous êtes en Provence !

Vous longerez le magnifique Lac de Sainte-Croix, avant de pénétrer dans le plus grand canyon d'Europe, les Gorges du Verdon. La route serpente au sommet des falaises qui surplombent le Gardon. Vous apprécierez le confort et la précision de conduite de votre Volkswagen California, digne d'une berline. La rivière semble toute petite, au fond du canyon, mais détrompez-vous, son débit permet de pratiquer tous les sports en eaux vives. Pour ceux qui veulent sillonner tranquillement le Gardon, le canoë ou le kayak seront parfaits. Ils profiteront à fond des paysages grandioses, avec leurs immenses falaises et leurs grottes suspendues. On s'y sent tout petit... Les amateurs de sensations plus fortes, se tourneront vers le rafting, l'hydrospeed ou le canyoning. Douches garanties, c'est si agréable en ce lieu où le soleil règne en maître.

Les Gorges du Verdon, c'est aussi un haut-lieu de randonnées et bien entendu, avec ces belles falaises, l'escalade est à la fête. C'est aussi un excellent spot pour une inoubliable pêche à la mouche. Après tous ces exercices, vous serez ravis de retrouver votre fourgon aménagé, pour une soirée de détente bien méritée. Les campervans se garent comme des voitures de tourisme, vous n'aurez donc aucune difficulté à trouver des nightspots exceptionnels. Vous déplierez les fauteuils et la table extérieurs pour prendre un inoubliable apéro, avant d'aller préparer un non moins inoubliable dîner à la cuisine équipée de votre van, avec son réfrigérateur, sa plaque 2 feux gaz et son évier.

Pour ceux qui apprécient le tourisme, vous reprendrez la route vers la petite ville de Castellane, dominée par l'impressionnant Roc Notre-Dame ou vers les villages perchés typiques de cette région. Ils ont souvent été construits et fortifiés dès le Moyen-Age, en haut d'un promontoire, pour surveiller d'éventuelles incursions ennemies. Vous visiterez Le-Palud-sur-Verdon, au coeur du parc des Gorges, le musée de la préhistoire des Gorges du Verdon, à Quinson ou celui de la faïence à Moustiers-Sainte-Marie, l'un des plus beaux villages de France.

 

Votre van de location vous conduira vers les beaux lacs de la région, le Lac de Sainte-Croix, le Lac de Quinson, que borde Montmeyan, un village typiquement provençal, et enfin, celui d'Esparron. Vous pourrez y pratiquer toute une palette de sports nautiques, en fonction de votre courage, des plus calmes, la baignade, le pédalo ou le bateau électrique, jusqu'à la voile pour les plus courageux.
À votre retour, vous serez triste de quitter votre campervan, alors rentrez à Aix par le « chemin des écoliers ». Vous vous arrêterez à Sillans-la-Cascade, un joli village qui porte bien son nom avec sa belle cascade de 44m de haut. Vous apprécierez aussi le détour par Cotignac et ses maisons troglodytes, construites dans la falaise de tuf.

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, dans les Gorges du Verdon, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Aix en Provence.