In the Spanish Pyrénées

Aragon and Navarre are two regions that cover a significant portion of the Spanish Pyrénées and they're sure to fulfil your wishes for campervan exploration and adventure.

This is mountain country filled with beautiful landscapes, lush forests, pretty valleys, iconic towns and many sports activities. Take your pick: climbing in the Posets-Maladeta Natural Park at the base of Pic d'Aneto, the highest point in the Pyrénées (3404 m), canyoning in the Sierra de Guara, rafting or kayaking on the Noguera, mountain biking, paragliding and caving. These are just a sample of the many adventures you can experience in these mountains. This is also the land of hiking, including the Senda Pirenaica (GR 11) and many other well-marked hiking routes. You may see izards from the chamois or mouflon family, or perhaps a Pyrénées brown bear if you're really lucky. After all that effort, you'll be glad to spend a lovely evening in your campervan in an overnight spot with an incredible view! You'll appreciate being able to prepare a good dinner in your Mercedes Marco Polo or Volkswagen California's built-in kitchen, which includes a fridge, two-burner hob and sink. Plus, you'll be able to choose between sleeping in the lower double bed or the more intimate upper one, under the pop-up roof.

Explore these provinces' many touristic treasures: the Aran Valley where the Garonne begins, the pretty medieval city of Ainsa, the Ordesa National Park including the Añisclo Canyon and Monte Perdido, and the lovely towns of Torla and Benasque.
And since your little van can be equipped with auxiliary heating, you can head off the beaten track in the winter to ski in the Spanish Pyrénées, which feature a vast ski resort. The ski resorts at Candanchú (the oldest), Astún, Formigal and Panticosa in Aragon, and those at Larra-Belagua in Navarre, offer all kinds of winter sports including snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, sledding and more. There are plenty of après-ski activities so you can enjoy the Spanish ambiance until the wee hours.


Head south of the Sierra de Guara to Huesca, the provincial capital with the same name. Wander through the old city and sample some Aragonese culinary specialities at one of the city's many restaurants.
If you aren't afraid of a few extra kilometres - which won't be the case in your easy-to-drive rental Volkswagen California - you can push on to an incredible spot in Navarre: the Bardenas Reales desert, a landscape straight out of a western film, with crushing heat in summer. Hiking among these rocky hills, carved by erosion, will be a highlight of your travels. After this long walk through the desert, take some well-deserved time to rest in the charming city of Tudela. Be sure to have a little aperitif at the Plaza de los Fueros. Once you're rested, set off through the old city's streets towards the Santa Maria Cathedral that stands under the watchful eye of the many storks that inhabit the city.

We suggest you set off on your Spanish Pyrenees campervan adventure from our WeVan rental location in Toulouse.

Dans les Pyrénées Espagnoles

L'Aragon et la Navarre, deux régions qui couvrent une bonne partie des Pyrénées Espagnoles, combleront vos envies de découverte et d'aventure en van aménagé.

C'est la haute montagne, avec ses beaux paysages, ses forêts luxuriantes, ses jolies vallées, ses villages typiques et de multiples activités sportives. Escalade dans le Parque Natural Posets-Maladeta, au pied du Pic d'Aneto, le point culminant des Pyrénées (3404m), canyoning dans la Sierra de Guara, rafting et canoë-kayak sur le Noguera, VTT, parapente, spéléologie... un échantillon des multiples aventures que vous pourrez vivre dans ces montagnes. C'est aussi le royaume de la randonnée, avec notamment la Senda Pirenaica (GR11) et de nombreux autres circuits pédestres bien balisés. Vous apercevrez peut-être des isards, de la famille des chamois ou des mouflons, ou encore, avec beaucoup plus de chance, un ours brun des Pyrénées... Après l'effort, le réconfort d'une belle soirée dans votre fourgon aménagé, sur un nightspot avec vue imprenable ! Vous apprécierez de pouvoir vous préparer un bon petit dîner grâce à la cuisine intégrée de votre campervan Mercedes Marco Polo ou Volkswagen California (réfrigérateur, plaque 2 feux, évier...) Et vous aurez le choix entre dormir dans la double-couchette du bas ou celle plus intimiste du haut, sous le toit relevable.

Vous découvrirez les nombreuses pépites touristiques de ces provinces : le Val d'Aran où la Garonne prend sa source, la jolie cité médiévale d'Ainsa, aux portes du Parc National d'Ordesa, avec le Canyon d'Añisclo et le Mont-Perdu, les jolis villages si typiques de Torla et Benasque.
Et comme votre sympathique van a le mérite de vous proposer un chauffage indépendant, vous aurez la possibilité de sortir des sentiers battus en allant skier, en hiver, dans les Pyrénées Espagnoles qui vous offrent un vaste domaine skiable. Les stations de Candanchú, la plus ancienne, Astún, Formigal, Panticosa en Aragon, celles de Larra-Belagua, en Navarre, vous proposeront toutes sortes de sports d'hiver, raquettes, ski de randonnée, luge... L'après-ski n'y est pas oublié et vous y trouverez la fameuse ambiance espagnole, jusque tard dans la soirée.

 

Au sud de la Sierra de Guara, vous rejoindrez Huesca, la capitale de la Province du même nom. Vous pourrez déambuler dans la vieille ville et déguster, dans l'un des nombreux restaurants de la ville, l'une des spécialités gastronomiques aragonaises.
Si les kilomètres ne vous rebutent pas, ce qui ne serait être le cas avec votre Volkswagen California de location, si agréable à conduire, vous pousserez jusqu'à un site exceptionnel en Navarre : le désert des Bardenas Reales, un véritable paysage de western, écrasé par la chaleur en été. Randonner parmi ces massifs rocheux, dessinés par l'érosion, sera un des points forts de votre périple. Après cette longue marche à travers le désert, vous goûterez à un moment de détente bien mérité dans la charmante ville de Tudela. Vous n'oublierez pas le petit apéro sur la Plaza de los Fueros et lorsque vous serez reposés, vous pourrez vous balader dans les rues de la vieille ville jusqu'à la Cathedral Santa Maria, sous le caquètement si bizarre des nombreuses cigognes qui peuplent la ville.

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, dans les Pyrénées Espagnoles, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Perpignan ou WeVan Toulouse.