Van travel means seeking out adventure. Preparing for every adventure is an important step so that once you've headed out, all you have to do is let yourself get carried away. You will be free to explore and to open your senses to all the things an adventure always brings: the charm of the unknown, one-of-a-kind experiences and all the magical moments that await.

In this document, we share some advice and information to help you prepare for your van adventure.

First Night in the Campervan!

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Camping vs. wild camping

When you're travelling in a campervan, you can spend the night on a campsite—and take advantage of services like water, electricity and toilets—or spend the night under the stars, cut off from the outside world and more closely connected to nature. Each person has their preferred way to travel. A good balance would be to alternate between the two options!

Wild camping & regulations

In France, wild camping is allowed on public land, but is regulated in certain areas. Except where permitted, you are prohibited from camping in protected areas and nature reserves, and on public roads or shorelines. Local municipal or prefectural orders may also prohibit camping, often in the summer season or tourist areas. Each country has its own legislation on wild camping, so be sure to get more information as you're planning your trip.

Our advice for wild camping

The first thing to think about when looking for a good spot to spend the night is to check out a detailed roadmap. As you get more experience, you'll hardly ever get confused. You can also check out websites and collaborative mobile apps that list wild camping locations (see end of this document). Above all, follow your instincts and your preferences, and be sure to explore the small back roads! Finally, be sure to follow these little #vanlife etiquette rules:

Each trip is different. Van camping in Landes in August or in Larzac in October are very... different experiences. It's up to you to use your judgement to adapt this advice!

WeVan Service

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Our fleet

Our vans are recent model vehicles that are less than 12 months old. They are purchased new and always kept in excellent shape by our partner dealers. They come with verified and adjusted levels, and full fuel and potable water tanks. You are ready to take off on your trip by yourself as soon as you leave your agency.

With their go-anywhere size and under-2m height, our vans aren't subject to most access and parking restrictions. So it's easy for you to get as close as possible to the things that inspire you!

Included equipment & accessories

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

We've selected a variety of high-quality accessories to kit out your campervan with all the comforts you need. They're crucial for your wandering adventure and stocked based on the van's passenger capacity. All you have to worry about is packing your bag!

Options to consider

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

You can add options any time up to the day you leave, based on availability :

PEACE-OF-MIND OPTIONS

FUN EXTRA OPTIONS

Items We Suggest You Bring

Here's a non-exhaustive list of equipment and supplies you may want to bring for a relaxing campervan experience:

Leaving on your adventure

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

On the day of departure, before we let you head out in your van to search for adventure, we have a few administrative formalities to complete:

Logistical services

Feel free to contact us about arranging your transport from any airport or tram, metro or train station. Depending on the agency, if you arrive in your personal vehicle, you can park it at our location at your own risk during the rental period for no extra fee. Finally, we can also arrange to drop-off and pick-up your vehicle under certain conditions.

FOR MORE DETAILS, JUST A FEW EXAMPLES OF RESOURCES!

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Recommended Books

Recommended Websites

WeVan

Useful sites & apps

Voyager en van, c'est partir à l'aventure. Toute aventure qui se respecte se prépare, pour qu'une fois lancée, nous puissions nous laisser porter par elle. Notre esprit libéré et tous nos sens ainsi réceptifs, nous pouvons alors embrasser ce qu'elle ne manque jamais de nous apporter : le charme de l'inconnu, des rencontres insolites, et tous ses instants magiques...

À travers ces quelques conseils et informations, nous nous proposons de vous aider à préparer votre aventure en van.

Première nuit en campervan !

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Camping vs. camping sauvage

Lorsque vous voyagez en campervan vous avez la possibilité de passer la nuit dans une aire de camping - et profiter de services tels que des accès à l'eau, à l'électricité ou aux sanitaires - ou alors de passer la nuit à la belle étoile, coupés du monde et au plus près des éléments. A chacun sa manière de voyager, un juste équilibre étant d'alterner entre ces deux options !

Camping sauvage & législation

En France le camping sauvage est autorisé sur le domaine public, mais réglementé pour certaines zones. Sauf dérogations, il est ainsi interdit sur des zones comme les sites classés, les réserves naturelles, les voies publiques ou encore les rivages de la mer. Il peut également être interdit par arrêtés municipaux ou préfectoraux locaux, souvent en période estivale et pour des zones touristiques. Chaque pays possède sa propre législation sur le camping sauvage, aussi pensez à vous renseigner en organisant votre voyage.

Nos conseils sur le camping sauvage

Pour trouver un bon « spot » où passer la nuit, le premier réflexe est de regarder une carte routière détaillée. Avec l'expérience on ne s'y trompe quasiment jamais. Vous pouvez également consulter des sites@ et applications mobiles collaboratives qui référencent des emplacements sauvages (cf. fin de page). Restez surtout à l'écoute de votre instinct et de vos goûts, en privilégiant les petites routes de traverses ! Veillez enfin à respecter quelques petites règles de bienséance inhérentes au #vanlife :

Chaque voyage est différent, et camper en van au mois d'août dans les Landes ou en octobre dans le Larzac sont des expériences... différentes. À vous d'adapter ces conseils à votre bon sens !

La prestation we-van

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Notre flotte

Nos campervans sont des véhicules récents de première main de moins de 12 mois, achetés et entretenus chez nos concessionnaires partenaires, toujours en excellent état de route. Ils vous sont confiés avec les niveaux vérifiés et ajustés, ainsi qu'avec les pleins de carburant et d'eau potable. Vous êtes parés pour partir en toute autonomie dès la sortie de votre agence.

Grâce à leurs petits gabarits passe-partout et leur hauteur inférieure à 2 mètres, nos vans ne sont pas soumis à la plupart des restrictions d'accès et de stationnement. Il vous est alors facile de vivre au plus près des éléments qui vous font vibrer !

Les équipements & accessoires inclus

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Pour votre confort nous avons sélectionné et équipé votre campervan d'une panoplie d'accessoires de qualité. Indispensables à votre aventure itinérante, ils sont prévus pour le nombre de personnes autorisées à bord. Vous n'avez plus qu'à vous soucier de la préparation de votre sac !

Les options à envisager

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Il vous est possible d'ajouter des options jusqu'au jour de votre départ, sous réserve de disponibilité, telles que :

LES OPTIONS « TRANQUILITÉ »

LES OPTIONS « GOODIES »

Nos conseils sur le petit matériel à prévoir

Voici une liste non-exhaustive de matériel et des fournitures à envisager pour partir en campervan en toute sérénité :

Votre départ

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

Le jour du départ, avant de vous laisser partir vivre votre aventure en van, nous avons quelques menues formalités administratives à accomplir :

Services logistiques

N'hésitez pas à nous solliciter pour vous aider à organiser votre transfert depuis une station de tram, de métro, une gare ou un aéroport. Selon les agences, si vous venez avec votre véhicule personnel, vous pourrez le stationner chez nous le temps de votre location, sans frais et sous votre responsabilité. Enfin, nous pouvons également organiser la mise à disposition et la récupération de votre véhicule, sous conditions.

Pour aller plus loin... sans être exhaustif !

Préparation au voyage en Campervan

La bibliothèque

La webothèque

WeVan

Sites & applis utiles