Van trip to the Auvergne

Volcanoes, lakes, villages, castles, sports and culture, so many advantages make the Auvergne a particularly vanlife destination. Located in the heart of the Massif Central, the Auvergne is made up of four departments: the entire Cantal and Puy de Dôme and part of the Allier and Haute-Loire.

Clermont-Ferrand, the capital of the Auvergne, deserves to shed the negative preconceived idea it evokes, which is especially linked to its dark coloured buildings, such as the Cathedral Notre Dame de l'Assomption that towers over the city. This colour is not due to the buildings being dirty but to the volcanic stones used to build them, mostly the volvic lava stone. The atmosphere in Clermont-Ferrand has nothing dark and gloomy about it and its short film festival is the second film event in France.

In Clermont, you're at the foot of the Auvergne Volcanoes Natural Park, with its three chains of volcanoes: the Monts Dôme or Chaîne des Puys including the famous Puy de Dôme, the Monts Dore with the Massif Central's peak, the Puy de Sancy (1885m), and the Monts du Cantal with two summits that are classified as Grand site de France: the Plomb du Cantal and Puy Mary. A list reminiscent of geography lessons... For more info about volcanoes, check out Vulcania, a theme park for a fun way to learn how they function. Reach the summit of the Puy de Dôme by train on the cog railway or the top of the Puy de Sancy by cablecar (Puy de Sancy). Breath-taking views await you overlooking the Monts du Limousin, the Plateau de Millevaches, the Monts du Forez and the Mont Blanc in the Alps, if the weather allows it... The bravest will follow the GR30, a hiking trail between the Auvergne's mountains and lakes. It connects the three great peaks of the Massif Central: Puy de Dôme, Puy de Sancy and Plomb du Cantal. Thrill-seekers can try out hang-gliding or paragliding from the top of the Puy de Dôme. Cyclists will also be in for a treat with cols to climb and rides through the heart of the valleys. WeVan offers bike-racks for hire with its equipped campervans. Make the most the many volcanic lakes you come across to enjoy your favourite water sports: Lac Pavin in Besse, Lac Chambon, Lac de Guéry, Lac de Servières... Most of the Auvergne's towns have strong characters and are worth the visit: Riom, Issoire, Brioude, Saint Flour, Aurillac. Take advantage of these breaks to taste the numerous local food specialities such as, among others, the potée auvergnate (Auvergnat hotpot), aligot, truffade, Auvergne blue cheeses, Cabécou, Saint Nectaire, Cantal, and to end on a sweet note, the pastry specials: cornets de Murat, carrés de Salers, pompe aux pommes, Auvergne fruit jellies.

Your road trip in the Auvergne will take you to authentic villages. The Auvergne counts 11 villages that are labelled Les Plus Beaux Villages de France (the most beautiful villages of France): Arlempdes, Blesle, Charroux, Lavaudieu, Montpeyroux, Pradelles, Saint Saturnin, Saint Floret, Salers, Tournemire and Usson. All unique, all different! Let's not forget the Route Historique des Châteaux d'Auvergne with its 39 châteaux, some of which are situated in the Plus Beaux Villages de France (France's most beautiful villages). Discover another side of the Auvergne by taking the Route des Métiers, in the Livradois-Forez Nature Park, the other great nature park in the Auvergne, not far from Vichy to the north and Puy en Velay to the south. All along this route, you'll find craftsmen and farm producers with ancient know-how: cutlery-makers in Thiers, Fourme d'Ambert producers, ceramists, milliners... In winter, the Auvergne awaits you for winter sports off the beaten track. The menu includes cross-country skiing and snowshoeing on the great plateaux, downhill skiing and snowboarding on the Mont Dore, Lioran, at Super Besse or Chalmazel. With the autonomous stationary heating in your campervan, you'll keep warm and toasty.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure to the Auvergne from our WeVan rental location in Tours.

Van trip en Auvergne

Ses volcans, ses lacs, ses villages, ses châteaux, ses activités sportives et culturelles, autant d'atouts qui font de l'Auvergne une destination particulièrement vanlife. Située au coeur du Massif Central, l'Auvergne est constituée de quatre départements: le Cantal et le Puy de Dôme en totalité et partiellement l'Allier et la Haute-Loire.

Clermont-Ferrand, capitale d'Auvergne, mérite de dépasser l'a priori négatif qu'elle suscite, surtout lié à la couleur sombre de ses bâtiments, notamment la Cathédrale Notre Dame de l'Assomption qui domine la ville. Couleur qui n'est pas liée à la saleté mais à la couleur des pierres volcaniques utilisées pour la construction, essentiellement la pierre de Volvic. L'ambiance qui règne à Clermont-Ferrand n'a rien de sombre et son Festival du Court Métrage est le second événement cinématographique français.

A Clermont,  vous êtes au pied du Parc Naturel des Volcans d'Auvergne, avec ses trois chaînes de volcans: les Monts Dôme ou Chaîne des Puys dont le fameux Puy de Dôme, les Monts Dore avec le point culminant du Massif Central, le Puy de Sancy (1885m), et les Monts du Cantal avec deux sommets classés Grand site de France : le Plomb du Cantal et Puy Mary. Une liste qui rappelle les cours de géographie... Pour en savoir plus sur les volcans, rendez-vous à Vulcania, un parc d'attractions qui permet de mieux en connaître le fonctionnement, de manière ludique. Accédez au sommet du Puy de Dôme en train à crémaillère ou à celui du Puy de Sancy en téléphérique (Puy de Sancy). De magnifiques panoramas vous y attendent sur les Monts du Limousin, le Plateau de Millevaches, les Monts du Forez et le Mont Blanc dans les Alpes, si le temps le permet... Les plus courageux emprunteront le GR30, un sentier de randonnées entre monts et lacs d'Auvergne. Il relie les trois grands sommets du Massif Central : Puy de Dôme, Puy de Sancy et Plomb du Cantal. Les amateurs de sensations fortes  peuvent pratiquer le parapente ou le deltaplane depuis le sommet du Puy de Dôme. Les cyclistes seront aussi à la fête entre ascensions de cols et balade au coeur des vallées. WeVan propose des porte-vélos à la location avec ses vans aménagés. Profitez des nombreux lacs volcaniques que vous croisez sur votre route pour pratiquer vos activités nautiques préférées : Lac Pavin à Besse, Lac Chambon, Lac de Guéry, Lac de Servières... La plupart des villes auvergnates ont un sacré caractère et méritent le détour : Riom, Issoire, Brioude, Saint Flour, Aurillac. Profitez de ces haltes, pour goûter les nombreuses spécialités culinaires de la région avec, parmi tant d'autres, la potée auvergnate, l'aligot, la truffade, les fromages Bleu d'Auvergne, Cabécou, Saint Nectaire, Cantal, et, pour finir, les spécialités pâtissières : cornets de Murat, carrés de Salers, pompe aux pommes, pâtes de fruits d'Auvergne.

Votre road trip auvergnat vous conduit au gré des villages authentiques. L'auvergne compte 11 villages labellisés Les Plus Beaux Villages de France : Arlempdes, Blesle, Charroux, Lavaudieu, Montpeyroux, Pradelles, Saint Saturnin, Saint Floret, Salers, Tournemire et Usson. Tous uniques, tous différents! Sans oublier la Route Historique des Châteaux d'Auvergne, avec ses 39 châteaux dont certains se situent dans les Plus Beaux Villages de France. Pour découvrir une autre facette de l'Auvergne, empruntez la Route des Métiers, dans le Parc Naturel du Livradois-Forez, l'autre grand parc naturel d'Auvergne, non loin de Vichy au nord et du Puy en Velay au sud. Tout au long de ce parcours, rencontrez des artisans et des producteurs fermiers au savoir-faire ancestral : couteliers à Thiers, producteurs de Fourme d'Ambert, céramistes, modistes... En hiver, l'Auvergne vous attend pour des sports d'hiver hors des sentiers battus. Au menu ski de fond et raquettes sur ses grands plateaux, ski alpin et surf au Mont Dore, au Lioran, à Super Besse ou à Chalmazel. Avec le chauffage stationnaire autonome de votre fourgon aménagé, vous êtes bien chaud. 

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Auvergne, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location We-Van Tours.