Roadtrip in the Pyrenees

The Toulouse region is a gold mine of rental campervan adventures. Before heading out towards the Pyrenees, you'll want to visit Toulouse - nicknamed the Pink City because of the colour of its buildings.

The narrow lanes around the famous Place du Capitole will immerse you in the warm and welcoming southwest ambiance. Before leaving for your adventure in the Pyrenees, sample one of the many regional culinary specialities like cassoulet, duck confit, Toulouse sausage or foie gras.

The heart of this beautiful mountain chain hosts three departments: Hautes-Pyrénées, Haute-Garonne and Ariège. If you're starting in the west, head towards Tarbes and Lourdes. Make a stop in Saint-Bertrand-de-Comminges, one of France's most beautiful towns. Then, after crossing Bagnères-de-Bigorre, start ascending one of the Tour de France's mythic hills, the formidable Col du Tourmalet at the base of the Pic du Midi de Bigorre. Your campervan will take you to the famous Cirque de Gavarnie in the Pyrenees National Park, where you can spend an incredible evening at this exceptional location that was carved by glaciers. The Pyrenees National Park also features other incredible high-mountain sites like Lac de Batcrabère, the Néouvielle National Nature Reserve, and Vignemale, the highest summit in the French Pyrenees (3298 m).


The Pyrenees are an excellent playground for adventurers and sports lovers. Whether you like whitewater sports such as canoeing, kayaking, aquazorbing, rafting, canyoning; land-based sports like mountaineering, climbing, biking and mountain biking; or aerial sports such as paragliding or hang-gliding, you'll find something to enjoy. For the walkers, check out the beautiful GR 10 hikes that will be calling your name. Along the way, you may see wild animals like an izard or Pyrenees bear, and a bearded vulture may be watching you from the air. For anyone who needs time to reflect, book a fly fishing trip to a gave or stream. After all these activities, a long, relaxing evening in your comfortable van awaits. You can have an aperitif and enjoy local specialities prepared in the fully-equipped kitchen. And you'll sleep like a baby after putting up the light-blocking window shades.


Your campervan will be anxious to continue the eastward road trip. It will take you to the Luchon spa through the Aspin and Peyressourde passes, which mark the boundary between the Hautes-Pyrénées and the Haute-Garonne. The most adventurous can take the Port de Balès, a lunar pass that is closed in winter. Continue your adventure towards Ariège, making a stop in Saint-Lizier to explore its rich historical and architectural heritage before reaching the good city of Foix. Make a loop through the Niaux cave to see the Neolithic paintings.
Campervans now come equipped with auxiliary heating. So you can go skiing or snowboarding at one of the winter sports resorts in the Pyrenees such as La Mongie, Gourette, Guzet, Luchon-Superbagnères, Peyragudes, or even Andorra. You're guaranteed to have plenty of snow at their high altitudes.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure to the Pyrenees from our WeVan rental location in Toulouse.

COVID19 : option "Flexibilité Annulation" offerte pour tous les départs en 2020 : annulez sans frais votre voyage jusqu'à 48 heures avant le début de votre location. En savoir plus

Road trip en van aménagé dans les Pyrénées

La région de Toulouse est une mine d'or pour les road trip en van aménagé de location. Avant de descendre vers les Pyrénées, une visite de Toulouse s'impose.

Son surnom de Ville Rose lui vient de la couleur de ses bâtiments. Ses petites rues, autour de la fameuse Place du Capitole, vous plongeront tout de suite dans la chaleureuse ambiance du sud-ouest et vous dégusterez, avant de partir pour vos aventures pyrénéennes en van aménagé, l'une des nombreuses spécialités gastronomiques régionales : cassoulet, confit de canard, saucisse de Toulouse, foie gras.

Trois départements, les Hautes-Pyrénées, la Haute-Garonne et l'Ariège constituent le coeur de cette belle chaîne de montagnes. Si vous commencez par l'ouest, vous vous dirigerez vers Tarbes et Lourdes. Vous ferez un petit détour par Saint-Bertrand-de-Comminges, l'un des plus beaux villages de France, puis, après la traversée de Bagnères-de-Bigorre, vous entamerez l'ascension d'un col mythique du Tour de France, le redoutable Col du Tourmalet, au pied du Pic du Midi de Bigorre. Votre fourgon aménagé vous conduira vers le fameux Cirque de Gavarnie, dans le Parc National des Pyrénées, où vous passerez une inoubliable soirée dans ce site exceptionnel, dessiné par les glaciers. Silloner le Parc National des Pyrénées lors de votre road trip en van aménagé vous offrira d'autres magnifiques sites de haute montagne, le Lac de Batcrabère, la Réserve Naturelle de Néouvielle, le Vignemale, le plus haut sommet des Pyrénées Françaises (3298m).

 

Les Pyrénées, c'est un formidable terrain de jeux pour les aventuriers et les sportifs que vous pourrez découvrir grâce à la location de fourgon aménagé. Que vous aimiez les sports en eaux vives, canoë-kayak, hydrosphère, rafting, canyoning, les sports terrestres, alpinisme, escalade, vélo, VTT, Mountain Nike ou les sports aériens, parapente ou deltaplane, vous trouverez votre bonheur. Pour les marcheurs, de belles randonnées sur le GR 10, vous tendent les bras, plutôt les jambes... Vous y apercevrez peut-être des animaux sauvages, l'isard ou l'ours des Pyrénées, et serez survolés un gypaète barbu, de la famille des vautours. Et pour les plus contemplatifs, une partie de pêche à la mouche dans un gave. Après toutes ces activités, une longue soirée de détente vous attendra dans votre confortable van aménagé. Vous y prendrez l'apéritif, vous y dégusterez des spécialités locales préparées à la cuisine intégrée. Et vous y dormirez comme des bébés, après avoir installé les stores qui occultent les vitres.

 

Votre campervan piaffera pour reprendre votre road-trip vers l'est. Il vous conduira à la station thermale de Luchon, en passant par les Cols d'Aspin et de Peyressourde, limite entre les Hautes-Pyrénées et la Haute-Garonne. Pour les plus aventuriers, vous emprunterez le Port de Balès, un col lunaire, fermé l'hiver. Vous continuerez votre road trip en van aménagé vers l'Ariège où vous ferez une halte à Saint-Lizier, au riche patrimoine historique et architectural, avant de rejoindre la bonne ville de Foix. Vous ferez un crochet par la grotte de Niaux et ses peintures néolithiques.
Les vans aménagés actuels sont équipés d'un chauffage stationnaire indépendant. Vous aurez donc la possibilité d'aller skier ou pratiquer le snowboard, dans une station de sports d'hiver des Pyrénées, La Mongie, Gourette, Guzet, Luchon-Superbagnères, Peyragudes... Andorre. Leur altitude élevée vous garantit une neige abondante.

Pour votre road trip en van aménagé pyrénéen, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location de van aménagé WeVan Toulouse.