Bavarian trip in a campervan

Bavaria is often associated with beer, sausages, and Ludwig II of Bavaria and his lush castles, but even though all part of the picture, this German bit of land is bountiful with many natural treasures, architectural beauties and numerous outdoors activities. The best way to discover its diversity is letting youself wander its lovely winding roads, behind the wheel of a WeVan rental campervan, needless to say.

Your Bavarian road trip starts off in Lindau, on the shores of Lake Constance, only 2 hours and a half from the WeVan basel-Mulhouse agency after crossing Switzerland. Lindau will set the tone of your trip right away. Its historical center entirely spread on an island on Lake Constance, is linked to the shore by two bridges. There are lots of reasons to be seduced by Lindau. You will delight in its painted-gables houses, so typically Bavarian, its little port heralded by a big lighthouse and a statue of a sitting Lion (Bavaria’s symbol), and also, the sweeping views of the Swiss Alps … as many arguments to attract travelers… maybe too many for a van traveler who will find a more tranquil atmosphere by hiking or biking on the lake shores’ built tracks.
Lindau is the gateway to the Alps’ German Road. This 450 km touristic route leads you to Berchtesgaden, east of Bavaria, near the Austrian border. You’ll drive past bucolic landscapes, meadows full of wild  flowers, villages and townlets such as Oberstaufen and Immenstadt, in Allgäu where you can go sledding down the 63 bends of the Alpsee 3 km slope, open all year round. Guaranteed thrills for big and little ones, in complete safety! You are starting the romantic part of your visit : the land of Ludwig II’s castles. The best-known among them is Neuschwanstein Castle, the very peculiar Neo-Gothic castle towering over the top of a 200 m high rocky outcrop overlooking Füssen and Schwangau villages. With both Neuschswanstein and Hohenschwangau Castles in the background, many outdoor activities such as paragliding, hot-air balloon, horse-riding, hiking are on offering as well as sailing on Lake Forggensee at the castles foot.

When your romantic and athletic jaunt is over, drive on board your campervan to the must see Wies Church, a baroque masterpiece. Then head to Garmisch-Partenkirchen ski resort, at the base of Germany’s highest peak, the Zugspitze (2 962 m). It was in Garmisch that the 1936 Olympic Games took place. While in the neighbourhood, don’t miss the Alpspix panoramic platform on top of Osterfelderkopf peak which you can reach by the Alpspitzbahn cable-car. From there, you will enjoy a breathtaking view from a 1000 metres steep incline. Go and discover the Partnach Gorges or have a stroll in Mittenwald, one of Bavaria most beautiful villages and don’t miss the frescoes painted on its one-hundred-year-old houses … From Mittenwald, you could go for a jaunt in the Austrian Tyrol. Innsbruk is less than an hour away.
Back on the Alps’ German Road, you’ll be going along several lakes : Lake Tegernsee, Schliersee  and Spitzingsee Lakes and lastly Lake Chiemsee. Another Ludwig II’s castle, Herrenchiemsee New Palace, built after the Palace of Versailles, is sitting on the latter’s shores. All these lakes’ names ending with a « see » will make you understand that the German word for lake is see. If you keep heading east with your WeVan rental campervan, you’ll arrive in Berchtesgaden. Music lovers can go on a pilgrimage to Salzburg, in Austria, only one hour and a half away. To end your Alps’ German Road’s trip on a high note, stop awhile in the charming Schönau am Königssee resort on the shores of Lake Königsee in the Berchtesgaden Nationalpark (no need for translation…) where the actress Romy Schneider spent her childhood.
 



On your way back, stop in Munich for the famous Oktoberfest « crime scene » where beer flows by the gallons night and day … And even if you don’t happen to visit Munich in October, indulge yourself with a « mass », a one litre mug of beer ! After such an « alcoholic » escapade, you’ll be strictly forbidden to drive. But Munich should definitely not be summed up to beer or a famed soccer team. You’ll be enticed to go for a stroll in the city center, if only for the sake of listening the town hall bells on the Marienplatz or go for a last stock up on local products in Viktualienmarkt market.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure in Bavaria from our WeVan rental location in Basel-Mulhouse.

Balade bavaroise en campervan

La Bavière est trop souvent synonyme de bière, saucisses et châteaux de Louis II de Bavière et, même si cette trilogie en fait partie, ce land allemand offre pléthore de richesses naturelles, de beautés architecturales et nombre d’activités outdoor. Le meilleur moyen de la découvrir dans sa diversité, c’est encore de flâner au gré de ses jolies routes sinueuses, au volant d’un van de location de chez WeVan, bien sûr.

Votre road-trip bavarois commence à Lindau, sur les bords du Lac de Constance, à environ 2h30 seulement de l’agence WeVan Bâle-Mulhouse, en passant par la Suisse. Elle donne tout de suite le ton de votre voyage. Son centre historique occupe l’ensemble d’une île sur le Lac de Constance, reliée aux rivages par deux ponts. Ses maisons à pignons peints si typiques de la Bavière, son petit port dont l’entrée est marquée par la présence d’un grand phare et d’une statue de lion assis, symbole de la Bavière, sa vue sur les Alpes Suisses… autant d’arguments qui rendent cette ville particulièrement attractive, parfois un peu trop pour les voyageurs en van… Retrouvez plus de quiétude en faisant une randonnée à pied ou vélo sur les pistes aménagées autour du lac.
Lindau marque le départ de la Route Allemande des Alpes. Cette route touristique longue de 450 km, vous conduit jusqu’à Berchtesgaden, à l’est de la Bavière, non loin de la frontière autrichienne. C’est une succession de paysages bucoliques, de prairies couvertes de petites fleurs, de villages et petites villes telles Oberstaufen et Immenstadt dans l’Allgäu, où vous pourrez descendre l’Alpsee Bergwelt, une piste de luge de 3 km, avec 63 virages, été comme hiver. Frissons garantis, pour petits et grands, en toute sécurité ! Vous entamez la partie romantique de votre périple, au pays des châteaux de Louis II de Bavière, dont le plus connu est le Château de Neuschwanstein et son style néo-gothique si particulier. D’autant plus impressionnant qu’il trône sur un piton rocheux de 200 m de haut, au-dessus des villages de Füssen et de Schwangau. Les Châteaux de Neuschswanstein et le Château de Hohenschwangau servent de décor à de nombreuses activités outdoor, parapente, montgolfière, équitation, randonnée et même la voile sur le Lac Forggensee, au pied des châteaux. 
 



Après cette immersion romantico-sportive, reprenez la route au volant de votre fourgon aménagé de location, vers l’incontournable Eglise de Wies, chef d’œuvre de l’Art Baroque. Rejoignez ensuite la station de sports d’hiver de Garmisch-Partenkirchen, au pied de la plus haute montagne d’Allemagne, la Zugspitze (2 962 mètres). Garmisch-Partenkirchen a été le théâtre des Jeux Olympiques de 1936. A ne pas manquer dans les environs, la plateforme panoramique Alpspix, sur le sommet du Osterfelderkopf, accessible avec le téléphérique Alpspitzbahn, une vue à couper le souffle au-dessus d’un vide de près de 1000 mètres de vide, et la balade dans les Gorges de Partnach, et Mittenwald, l’un des plus beaux villages de Bavière avec ses très anciennes maisons centenaires, ornées de fresques… A Mittenwald, vous pouvez faire une petite incursion dans le Tyrol autrichien, vous êtes à moins d’une heure d’Innsbruk. 
En reprenant la Route Allemande des Alpes, vous longerez quelques lacs, le Lac Tegernsee, les Lacs Schliersee et Spitzingsee et enfin le Lac Chiemsee dont les berges accueillent un autre château de Louis II, le Château de Herrenchiemsee, construit sur le modèle du Château de Versailles. Avec tous ces noms de lacs qui finissent en see, vous aurez compris que lac se dit see en allemand. En poursuivant vers l’est, avec votre van de location, vous arrivez dans la région de Berchtesgaden. Les mélomanes peuvent faire un pèlerinage à Salzbourg, en Autriche, à seulement ½ heure de Berchtesgaden. Et pour terminer la Route Allemande des Alpes en beauté, faîtes une halte dans la charmante station de Schönau am Königssee, au bord du Lac Königsee, dans le Nationalpark Berchtesgaden (faut-il traduire ?). C’est ici que l’actrice Romy Schneider a passé son enfance.
 



Sur la route du retour, arrêtez-vous à Munich, sur les lieux du « crime », la célèbre Oktoberfest pendant laquelle la bière coule à flot. Et même, si vous ne visitez pas Munich en Octobre, ne résistez pas à la tentation de boire une mass, chope de bière d’un litre ! Après cette aventure « alcoolistique », la conduite vous sera totalement proscrite. Il ne faudrait surtout pas associer seulement Munich à la bière ou à une célèbre équipe de foot. Le centre-ville invite à la flânerie, ne serait-ce que pour écouter le carillon de l’Hôtel de Ville, sur la Marienplatz ou faire un dernier plein de produits locaux au marché Viktualienmarkt. 

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Bavière, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Bâle-Mulhouse.