Destination: Swiss Lakes

The Alps cover more than 60% of Switzerland, forming the landscape and featuring many lakes.

They also have a big influence on Swiss plants, wildlife, habitat and lifestyle, making this country particularly interesting to explore in a rental campervan.
After leaving Lyon, your Swiss adventure will begin at Lake Geneva, where you can see the famous water jet and astonishing Bains des Paquis. Enjoy fondue at the lakeside café with a beautiful view of Geneva. Follow the lake until you reach Lausanne, where you can explore the marina. Lake Geneva is so vast that it's a great place for nearly all water sports: sailing, canoeing, kayaking, stand up paddleboarding, water skiing and more. Past Lausanne, your campervan will take you to Montreux, which hosts the famous Jazz Festival. Visit Château de Chillon, a fortress chateau on the lake. Then head towards Lake Neuchâtel, in the Jura foothills. Wander through the beautiful Neuchâtelois Vineyard overlooking the lake and take in views of the Bernese Alps peaks. Those who love bicycling can ride some or all of the Tour of Lake Neuchâtel route on their bikes. Stop along the way for a swim at the many beaches.

Once back at your comfortable van, head towards Bern, the country's capital, which isn't located on a lake, contrary to the prevailing trend. You've left the French-speaking part of Switzerland and are now in the Germanic area. Continue on towards Interlaken, a ski resort located between Lake Thun and Lake Brienz at the base of the prestigious Alpine summits of Jungfrau, Mönch and Eiger. Like elsewhere in Switzerland, all kinds of mountain activities are available to you: hiking, mountain biking, paragliding, climbing and more. After all that effort, you'll be ready for a long evening in your little campervan, complete with dinner on-board and a night under the stars. At this juncture, you have two choices to continue your lake-view roadtrip: head towards the many northern lakes in German-speaking Switzerland or towards Lake Lugano and Lake Maggiore in Italian-speaking Switzerland.

In the north, you'll come across sumptuous Lake Lucerne and the city's iconic wooden bridge, Chapel Bridge. Your van will be happy to wait a few hours while you take a boat cruise through Lake Lucerne's mists. Continue past Lake Zoug, one of the smallest and most charming lakes you'll see on your journey. Your route will then take you into stereotypically Swiss landscapes: alpine pastures with pretty cows, refreshing hay smells and little chalets. You'll expect to run into Heidi at every turn. Next, cross Lake Zurich on foot over the incredible wooden footbridge that connects the Hurden peninsula to Rapperswil. Drive along Lake Constance's southern shores and enjoy views of Switzerland's second largest lake by surface area. The lake is fed by the Rhine, which separates Switzerland and Germany. Not far from Lake Constance, you can visit the charming little town of Appenzell, deep in the canton that produces Appenzeller cheese.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure to tour Swiss lakes from our WeVan rental locations in Lyon or Chambéry.

Destination Lacs Suisses

Les Alpes couvrent plus de 60% de la superficie de la Suisse, elles en façonnent donc largement les paysages, avec notamment un grand nombre de lacs.

Les Alpes ont aussi une grande influence sur la faune, la flore, l'habitat et le mode de vie des Suisses, rendant ce pays particulièrement intéressant à sillonner en van aménagé de location.
Au départ de Lyon, votre périple suisse commencera par le Lac Léman, à Genève et son fameux jet d'eau et ses étonnants Bains des Paquis. Vous serez directement sur le lac et vous pourrez y manger une fondue à la buvette, avec une belle vue sur Genève. Vous longerez le lac jusqu'à Lausanne et son port de plaisance. Le Lac Léman est si vaste que l'on peut y pratiquer la plupart des sports nautiques : voile, canoë-kayak, paddle, ski nautique... Au-delà de Lausanne, votre campervan vous conduira jusqu'à Montreux et son célèbre Festival de Jazz. Vous visiterez le Château de Chillon, un château-fort sur le lac. Vous vous dirigerez vers le Lac de Neuchâtel, au pied du Jura. Vous flânerez dans le beau Vignoble Neuchâtelois qui domine le lac et vous apercevrez les grands sommets des Alpes Bernoises. Pour les aficionados du vélo, vous ferez tout ou partie du Tour du Lac de Neuchâtel en vélo et profiterez de ses nombreuses plages pour vous baigner.

Vous reprendrez votre confortable fourgon aménagé pour vous diriger vers Berne, la Capitale Fédérale, qui, une fois n'est pas coutume, ne se situe pas au bord d'un lac...Vous aurez quitté la Suisse Romande pour la Suisse Alémanique. Vous vous dirigerez vers Interlaken, une station de ski située entre le Lac de Thoune et le Lac de Brienz, au pied des prestigieux sommets alpins : Jungfrau, Mönch et Eiger. Comme partout en Suisse, toutes les activités montagnardes vous tendent les bras : randonnée, VTT, parapente, escalade... Après l'effort, le réconfort d'une longue soirée dans votre petit camping-car, un bon petit dîner à bord et une nuit sous les étoiles. Vous choisirez de poursuivre votre road-trip lacustre, soit vers les nombreux lacs du nord de la Suisse Alémanique, soit vers les Lacs de la Suisse Italienne, le Lac de Lugano et le Lac de Locarno.

Vers le nord, vous aborderez le somptueux Lac des Quatre-Cantons et Lucerne avec son emblématique pont en bois, le Pont de la Chapelle. Votre van vous attendra quelques heures, le temps que vous fassiez une croisière en bateau à vapeur sur le Lac des Quatre-Cantons. Vous longerez le Lac de Zoug, l'un des plus petits et des plus charmants de votre périple. Vous poursuivrez votre voyage à travers des paysages si typiquement suisses : les alpages et leurs jolies vaches, la bonne odeur de foin, et les petits chalets. On s'attend à rencontrer Heidi à chaque virage... Vous traverserez le Lac de Zurich à pied sur l'étonnante passerelle en bois qui relie la Presqu'île d'Hurden à Rapperswill. Vous longerez la rive sud du Lac de Constance, second lac suisse par la superficie. Le lac, alimenté par le Rhin sépare la Suisse et l'Allemagne. Non loin du Lac de Constance, vous visiterez la charmante petite ville d'Appenzell, au coeur du canton qui produit le Fromage d'Appenzell.

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, autour des Lacs Suisses, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Lyon ou WeVan Chambéry.