Anjou Escapade

Anjou is tucked into the western part of the Val de Loire region and filled with so many architectural and natural marvels that it's included on UNESCO's World Heritage list.

Anjou has many chateaux, including several that belong to the Association of Châteaux de la Loire. To fully explore Anjou, just follow your instincts, taking time to enjoy the famous Douceur Angevine (Angevine sweetness), the changing light on the river, the many wine estates... A rental campervan is the perfect vehicle to take on this adventure. No need to book overnight accommodation, so you're free to comfortably explore without prior planning ahead.
Your journey through Anjou begins in Saint-Florent-le-Vieil, not far from Nantes. This village, classified as a Petite Cité de Caractère (little city with character), will set the tone for your adventure with its pretty abbey that looks out over the Loire Valley. Drive along the river until you come to the crossing at Chalonnes-sur-Loire, then head into Savennières and sample some AOC-certified white wine. Take a quick detour to the charming town of Ile de Béhuard south of Savennières. Then head on to Angers to explore the chateau built by Saint Louis in the 13th century overlooking the Maine river. While the exterior is austere, you will be astonished by its rich interior decorations, especially the impressive Tenture de l'Apocalypse composed of six tapestries that are each 20 m long!

Your campervan will cross the Loire to the Château de Brissac where you can sample a glass of Rosé d'Anjou from the estate before you succumb to a nap in your van. How nice to be able to sleep in your van wherever you are... it makes it easy to indulge in this wine region's many temptations! Head back to the Loire and drive along its banks to Saumur and the chateau perched high above the city and the river. There you'll see toues cabanées, houseboats and typical Loire fishing vessels. You can even head out on one for a little cruise on the Loire. Saumur is also a horse mecca and hosts the famous Cadre Noir riding instructor corps. Next, your Volkswagen California campervan will take you to the base of Souzay-Champigny and Turquant's troglodyte villages, which are built into the limestone cliff. You can walk around the area and end up at the Saumur-Champigny vineyard above the villages. Further down the road, visit the Château de Montsoreau and peruse its lovely contemporary art collection. Be sure to make a stop in Candes-Saint-Martin, listed as one of France's most beautiful towns. It sits at the convergence of the Loire and Vienne rivers.

Head on to the Fontevraud Royal Abbey, one of the largest and most beautiful in Europe. This is the final resting place of Richard the Lionheart and Eleanor of Aquitaine. A little further on, you'll come across the Château de Brézé, which was originally an entirely underground fortress. It's surrounded by deep, dry moats. Ramble on to Montreuil-Bellay, where you'll find a fortified city that's worth visiting before you head back towards Angers via Coteaux du Layon. During your road trip in Anjou, you may enjoy hiking on the GR3, which follows the Loire river and starts at its source. Or, go for a bike ride on one of the many marked routes in the region. For those who enjoy calmer activities, watch a game of Boules de Fort, a locally popular lawn bowling game played with balls that aren't quite round...

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure through Anjou from our WeVan rental location in Nantes.

Escapade en Anjou

L'Anjou se niche dans la partie ouest du Val de Loire, si riche en merveilles architecturales et naturelles qu'il est inscrit sur la liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l'Unesco.

L'Anjou compte de nombreux châteaux dont plusieurs font partie de l'Association des Châteaux de la Loire. Pour bien découvrir l'Anjou, laissez-vous aller au gré de vos envies, prenez le temps de profiter de la fameuse Douceur Angevine, des lumières changeantes sur le fleuve, des multiples domaines viticoles... et pour cela, le van aménagé de location est le véhicule parfait, pas d'hébergement à prévoir donc pas de planning, que de la liberté en tout confort.
Votre balade angevine débutera non loin de Nantes, à Saint-Florent le Vieil. Ce village, classé Petite Cité de Caractère, vous donnera de suite le ton de votre périple, avec sa jolie abbaye qui domine la Vallée de la Loire. Vous longerez le fleuve que vous franchirez à Chalonnes sur Loire, pour rejoindre Savennières et son vin blanc AOC. Au pied de Savennières, vous ne manquerez pas de faire un détour par l'Ile de Béhuard et son charmant village. Vous rejoindrez Angers et son château édifié par Saint-Louis au 13ème siècle, au-dessus de la Maine. Austère à l'extérieur, il vous révélera de nombreuses richesses à l'intérieur, notamment l'impressionnante Tenture de l'Apocalypse, composée de six tapisseries mesurant chacune plus de 20m de long !

Votre fourgon aménagé franchira la Loire pour vous conduire jusqu'au Château de Brissac où vous dégusterez, avant la sieste à bord, un petit verre de Rosé d'Anjou du domaine. Dans nos belles régions viticoles où la tentation est forte, il est bien agréable de pouvoir dormir sur place, dans son van ! Vous reviendrez sur les bords de Loire que vous longerez jusqu'à Saumur et son château haut perché au-dessus de la ville et du fleuve. Vous y apercevrez des toues cabanées, bateaux typiques de la Loire et pourrez même embarquer pour une petite croisière sur la Loire. Saumur, c'est aussi un haut-lieu de l'équitation avec le fameux Cadre Noir. Au-delà de Saumur, votre campervan Volkswagen California vous conduira au pied des villages troglodytes de Souzay-Champigny et Turquant, bâtis dans la falaise calcaire. Vous vous y promènerez à pied et ressortirez au-dessus des villages dans le vignoble du Saumur-Champigny. Un peu plus loin, vous visiterez le Château de Montsoreau et sa belle collection d'Art Contemporain. Vous ne manquerez pas de faire une halte à Candes-Saint-Martin, classé parmi Les Plus Beaux Villages de France, au confluent de La Loire et de la Vienne.

Vous vous dirigerez vers l'Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud, l'une des plus grandes et belles d'Europe, où reposent Richard Coeur de Lion et Aliénor d'Aquitaine. Plus loin, le surprenant Château de Brézé qui fut à l'origine une forteresse entièrement souterraine, entourée de profondes douves sèches. Vous pousserez jusqu'à Montreuil-Bellay, une ville fortifiée où il fait bon faire une halte, avant de revenir vers Angers, via les Coteaux du Layon. Lors de votre road-trip angevin, vous aimerez faire quelques randonnées sur le GR3 qui longe la Loire depuis sa source ou des balades en vélo, sur les nombreux itinéraires balisés de la région. Et pour ceux qui préfèrent les activités plus calmes, vous assisterez à une partie de Boules de Fort, un jeu de boules très local avec des boules pas très rondes...

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Anjou, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Nantes.