Dordogne-Périgord with a van

Périgord is a former county approximately stretching within the actual limits of the Dordogne department, in the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region. Its variety of authentic towns and villages, castles and caves and the many outdoor activities offered, make it a destination of choice. And even if you have already visited this splendid region, exploring it with a campervan is a totally different experience.

Périgord can be divided into four areas : White Périgord at the center, around Périgueux, Dordogne's main town ; to the North is Green Périgord with Brantôme also known as the Venice of the region ; Purple Périgord in the South-West around Bergerac, and Black Périgord to the East surrounding the famous Sarlat la Canéda. The whole region is watered and shaped by the Dordogne, Vézère, Isle and Dronne rivers offering many water activities such as rafting, swimming, fly fishing. The boldest will enjoy rock climbing on the cliffs that overlook the river. Look for more information on Périgord Escalade website, Club Alpin Français of Sarlat and Black Périgord.

Don't miss a go in a gabare trip (a traditional boat) on the Dordogne river. Though it can sometimes be very touristy, it is worth drifting along several of France's Most Beautiful Villages such as Domme, La Roque-Gageac, Beynac-et-Cazenac, pepperred on just a few kilometres. On your way, watch out for the impressive fortresses of Castelnaud and de Beynac and the magnificent Château des Milandes. If you are prone to seasickness, fly away in a balloon for an unforgettable flight over the valley. You don't want to miss Monpazier, one of France's Most Beautiful Villages. You'll enjoy strolling along the main square arcades of this typical « bastide », or along Belvès' troglodyte houses. Or yet in Saint Amand de Coly's 12th century Abbey, and in Saint Léon sur Vézère which literally overlooks the river Vézère, not to forget Limeuil lying at the confluence of the Dordogne and the Vézère rivers. 

Périgord is also known for its prehistorical sites : the first cave paintings discovered in the Font de Gaume and Combarelles Caves at Eyzies de Tayac, the famed Lascaux Cave, or Rouffignac cave, are but a few of the 15 World Heritages Sites located in the Vézère Valley only. If you're not afraid to go underground, descend in a basket to the bottom of Proumeyssac Abyss, dubbed the «  crystal cathedral ». Stunning! If you prefer blue sky and greenery, visit one of the wonderful gardens of the region, the Marqueyssac Gardens or the much reputed Manoir of Eyrignac's Garden, a fine example of French formal gardens, not to forget the « Jardins de l'Imaginaire » in Terrasson-Lavilledieu or else, the Planbuisson Garden and its bamboo groves.In your campervan, you will have a front row-seat to enjoy the landscapes while sampling reknown local products such as « foie gras », truffles, boletus mushrooms, duck confit, Bergerac wines... (the latter to be consumed moderately, and no going back driving !) You won't come back thinner from your travels in Périgord, unless you eliminate calories by hiking or riding on the region tracks, particularly in the regional natural Park of Périgord-Limousin, in the North of the Dordogne department. Not far away, have a look at the awsome Hautefort Castle or watch the water games on the Dronne river in Brantôme every Friday night in July and August.

And if your longing for discovery and adventure in a campervan is not totally satisfied with all these offerings, you can be unfaithful to Dordogne once, and cross over A20 highway near Brive la Gaillarde and head to other jewels : Collonges la Rouge in Corrèze, Rocamadour and the Padirac Abyss in the Lot department.We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure in Dordogne-Périgord from our WeVan rental location in Bordeaux.

La Dordogne-Périgord en van

Le Périgord est un ancien comté qui correspondait à peu près à l'actuel département de la Dordogne, en région Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Sa richesse en villes et villages authentiques, ses châteaux et ses grottes et les nombreuses activités outdoor qui vous sont proposées, en font une destination particulièrement prisée. Et même si vous connaissez déjà cette magnifique région, la découvrir en van aménagé change tout.

Le Périgord se subdivise en quatre : le Périgord Blanc au centre, autour de Périgueux, chef-lieu de la Dordogne ; le Périgord Vert au nord, avec  Brantôme, surnommée  la Venise du Périgord ; le Périgord Pourpre au sud-ouest, autour de Bergerac et le Périgord Noir à l'est, qui entoure la fameuse Sarlat la Canéda. Le tout traversé par les rivières Dordogne, Vézère, Isle et Dronne, qui façonnent les paysages et proposent nombre d'activités nautiques : le canoë-kayak, la baignade, la pêche à la mouche. Les plus hardis peuvent pratiquer l'escalade sur les falaises qui surplombent la rivière. Renseignez-vous sur le site de Périgord Escalade, Club Alpin Français de Sarlat et du Périgord Noir.

Ne manquez pas la balade en gabare (bateau traditionnel) sur la Dordogne, même si c'est un peu trop touristique... Ses méandres longent plusieurs Plus Beaux Villages de France, en quelques kilomètres, Domme, La Roque-Gageac, Beynac-et-Cazenac et, entre ces merveilles, les impressionnantes forteresses de Castelnaud et de Beynac, et le magnifique Château des Milandes. Si le mal de mer vous guette, envolez-vous en montgolfière, pour un inoubliable survol de la vallée. Dans la catégorie Plus Beaux Villages de France, ne manquez pas Monpazier, une bastide typique avec sa place entourée d'arcades, Belvès et ses maisons troglodytes, Saint Amand de Coly et son Abbatiale du XIIème siècle, Saint Léon sur Vézère qui, comme son nom l'indique surplombe la rivière éponyme, sans oublier Limeuil au confluent de la Dordogne et de la Vézère.

Le Périgord est aussi connu pour ses sites préhistoriques. Les premières peintures rupestres découvertes dans les Grottes de Font de Gaume et des Combarelles, aux Eyzies de Tayac, la fameuse Grotte de Lascaux et ses peintures rupestres, la grotte de Rouffignac, pour ne citer qu'elles, ont conduit l'Unesco à inscrire 15 sites de la Vallée de la Vézère au Patrimoine Mondial de l'Humanité. Si le sous-sol ne vous effraie pas, descendez en nacelle dans le Gouffre  de Proumeyssac, surnommé La cathédrale de cristal. Impressionnant ! Si vous préférez le ciel bleu et la verdure, visitez l'un des magnifiques jardins de la région, les Jardins de Marqueyssac ou le très connu Jardin du Manoir d'Eyrignac, exemple parfait de jardin à la française, sans oublier les jardins de l'imaginaire à Terrasson-Lavilledieu ou encore le Jardin de Planbuisson et sa bambouseraie. Avec votre fourgon aménagé, vous êtes aux premières loges pour profiter des paysages sublimes en dégustant des produits locaux fort réputés: foie-gras, truffes, cèpes, confit de canard, vins de Bergerac (à déguster avec modération, sans reprendre le volant). Vous ne reviendrez pas plus mince de votre pérégrination périgourdine en van, sauf si vous éliminez en profitant des sentiers de randonnée ou des pistes cyclables de la région, notamment dans le Parc naturel régional Périgord-Limousin, au nord du département de la Dordogne. Non loin du Parc, faîtes un détour par l'impressionnant  Château d'Hautefort ou assistez aux joutes nautiques sur la Dronne à Brantôme (juillet-août/vendredi soir).

Et si après tout ça, votre soif de découverte et d'aventures en van aménagé n'est pas étanchée, faîtes une petite infidélité à la Dordogne et franchissez l'Autoroute A20, au niveau de Brive la Gaillarde, pour rejoindre d'autres joyaux : Collonges la Rouge en Corrèze, Rocamadour et le Gouffre de Padirac dans le Lot.Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Dordogne-Périgord, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Bordeaux.