Pyrenees-Orientales in a van

If you love the ocean and the mountains and don't want to choose between them, the Pyrenees-Orientales department is your perfect destination. This area could have been called the Mediterranean Pyrenees since the sea has such a large influence here.

Your first clue: the great weather; the sun shines 320 days per year! As you leave the lovely city of Perpignan and the train station made famous by Salvador Dali, your rental campervan will take you towards the wide sandy beaches that line the route between Canet-Plage and Argelès sur Mer. The Catalan coast offers many activity possibilities, whether you prefer calmer ones like sea kayaking or stand up paddle boarding, or more active sports like windsurfing or water skiing. The superb Vermilion Coast begins on Racou beach south of Argelès where the Pyrenees reach the Mediterranean. It's so beautiful that it inspired great painters like Picasso, Matisse and Derain. In this area, you'll drive through the Banyuls vineyard, skirt little rocky beaches and coves, and pass through delightful fishing ports in your Volkswagen California, that's just as easy to drive as a saloon car, but with a higher viewpoint. Walkers can take the trail leading to the Madeloc Tower where they will find a magnificent panoramic view of Collioure, Port-Vendres, Banyuls-sur-Mer and the Massif des Albères. And the Banyuls-Cerbère Marine Reserve awaits, perfect for an underwater dive.


After this maritime sojourn, your van will show how capable it is as you navigate the mountainous roads in the Regional Park of the Catalan Pyrenees, which is filled with an incredible wealth of activities. Visit the many Natura 2000 locations, the prestigious 2784 m-tall Pic du Canigou, winter sports resorts like the famous Font-Romeu and Bolquère-Pyrénées 2000, as well as Gorges de la Carança, and Gorges de la Fou with its giant cliffs. You'll leave your rental campervan for a few hours on Cerdagne's incredible Train Jaune, which connects Villefranche-de-Conflent to Latour-de-Carol. The 1200 m change in altitude along the route offers magnificent mountain panoramas. Sports fans will find a huge playground where they can do all kinds of outdoor summer activities, like climbing, via ferrata, mountain biking, cycling, and hiking on the famous GR 10 that crosses the entire Pyrenees mountain chain. Those looking for a thrill can try paragliding or hang gliding. After expending all that effort, you'll be glad to have your van's little outdoor shower to freshen up.


In winter, your comfortable campervan with its auxiliary heating will be the perfect basecamp for your winter sports, like downhill, cross-country and tour skiing, as well as snowshoeing. You'll be ready to relax after so much exertion, so head to the hot springs in Saint Thomas les Bains, Dorres or Llo.
The Pyrenees-Orientales department also has many architectural heritage sites, including the two Vauban citadels - in Villefranche de Conflent and Mont-Louis - listed as UNESCO world heritage sites, old towns like Castelnou and Eus, as well as religious edifices such as the peaceful Abbey of Saint-Martin-du-Canigou and the Roman Catholic Cathedral in Elne, which features a superb medieval cloister.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure to Pyrenees-Orientales from our WeVan rental location in Perpignan.

Les Pyrénées Orientales en van

Si vous aimez la mer et la montagne et que vous n'avez pas envie de choisir entre les deux, les Pyrénées Orientales sont idéales pour vous. Elles auraient pu s'appeler Pyrénées Méditerranéennes tant l'influence de la Méditerranée y est importante.

Premier signe tangible : un ensoleillement très important, avec 320 jours de soleil par an ! Au départ de la belle ville de Perpignan et sa gare rendue célèbre par Salvador Dali, votre van aménagé de location vous conduira vers les grandes plages de sable fin qui jalonnent la route entre Canet-Plage et Argelès sur Mer. Que vous appréciez les activités nautiques plutôt calmes telles que le kayak de mer ou le paddle ou que vous préfériez les plus sportives comme la planche à voile, le ski nautique, le Littoral Catalan vous offrira de nombreuses possibilités. Au sud d'Argelès, sur la plage du Racou, commence la superbe Côte Vermeille, là où les Pyrénées rejoignent la Méditerranée, si belle qu'elle a été source d'inspiration pour des grands peintres tels que Picasso, Matisse, Derain... A bord de votre Volkswagen California, aussi agréable à conduire qu'une berline, avec une sensation de hauteur, vous longerez de petites plages et criques rocheuses, dominées par le vignoble de Banyuls, en passant par les ravissants ports de pêche. Les marcheurs pourront emprunter le sentier qui les mènera à la Tour Madeloc où ils découvriront un magnifique panorama sur Collioure, Port-Vendres, Banuyls sur Mer et le Massif des Albères. Et la Réserve Marine de Banyuls-Cerbère vous attend pour une inoubliable plongée sous-marine.

 

Après ce séjour maritime, votre van exprimera tout son talent sur les routes de montagne du Parc Naturel Régional des Pyrénées Catalanes, d'une incroyable richesse, avec ses sites Natura 2000, le prestigieux pic du Canigou qui culmine à 2784m, ses stations de sports d'hiver dont la fameuse Font-Romeu et Bolquère-Pyrénées 2000, sans oublier les Gorges de la Fou et leurs gigantesques falaises, et les Gorges de la Carança. Vous abandonnerez quelques heures votre campervan de location au profit de l'incontournable Train Jaune de Cerdagne qui relie Villefranche de Conflent à Latour de Carol, avec un dénivelé impressionnant de 1200m qui permet de découvrir de magnifiques paysages de montagne. Les sportifs y trouveront un immense terrain de jeu où ils pourront pratiquer toutes sortes d'activités outdoor d'été, escalade, via ferrata, VTT, cyclisme, randonnée sur le fameux GR 10 qui traverse toute la chaîne des Pyrénées. Les amateurs de sensations fortes s'adonneront au parapente ou au planeur. Après l'effort, vous apprécierez sans doute la petite douchette extérieure de votre van pour vous rafraichir les orteils !

 

En hiver, votre confortable fourgon aménagé, avec son chauffage stationnaire indépendant, vous servira de camp de base pour vos sports d'hiver, ski nordique, ski de randonnée, ski de fond ou raquettes. Après cette débauche d'énergie, vous vous détendrez dans les bains d'eau chaude de Saint Thomas les Bains, ceux de Dorres ou ceux de Llo.
Les Pyrénées Orientales, c'est aussi un grand patrimoine architectural, avec ses deux citadelles Vauban classées au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, Villefranche de Conflent et Mont-Louis, ses vieux villages tels Castelnou et Eus, ou encore ses édifices religieux, la paisible Abbaye Saint-Martin du Canigou ou encore la Cathédrale romane d'Elne et son superbe cloître médiéval.

Pour votre road-trip en van aménagé, dans les Pyrénées Orientales, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Perpignan.