Road Trip on the Costa Brava

The Costa Brava is located in north-eastern Catalonia, extending from the French border south of Perpignan to Blanes, northeast of Barcelona. Its name doesn't mean brave coast, but rather "dismantled" coast, in reference to its coastline, which is very cut out and cliffy. This is an ideal destination for a rental campervan trip.

In addition to relaxation and many outdoor sports, the region also has a particularly rich cultural heritage. Start your adventure in the Alt Empordà region. It's not known for its name so much as for its famous painter, Salvador Dalí, whose home can be visited in Port Lligat near Cadaqués. If you arrive in Cadaqués during the off season or at the end of the day (after the tourist hordes depart), the city will reveal all its Mediterranean charms. You can also see many of the master's works in Figueres at the Dalí Theatre-Museum. Its architecture alone is surrealist madness. Cadaqués is surrounded by the magnificent Cap de Creus Natural Park and a maquis (or scrubland) typical of the Mediterranean. Alt Empordà is also home to the majestic Sant Pere de Rodes Monastery, Greco-Roman ruins in Empúries, the medieval town of Sant Marti d'Empúries, small fishing ports and many fine-sand coves. You'll have all the right ingredients to finish the day with a lovely tapas aperitif in your campervan as you look out on the sea.

Your van will then take you on towards the Baix Empordà region, in the centre of Costa Brava. Make a stop in Estartit, a pretty fishing port where you can take a boat to the Medes Islands, a nature reserve rich in marine species. Your van won't mind a quick rest... Further south, you'll come upon many coves in the Begur area. Head to the back country to visit historical villages like Ullastret and Pals, where golf enthusiasts can add the Golf Platja de Pals course to their scorecard. For those who love seaside activities, there's plenty for you to do, as well. Enjoy your favourite sport at one of the big resorts in the area, such as Palamós or Platja d'Aro.

 

Continue your van trip into Selva, also called the "water region" because this element is omnipresent there. You won't be surprised to find two incredible botanical gardens: Jardí Botànic Tropical Pinya de Rosa and Santa Clotilde Gardens. Both are located between Lloret de Mar and Blanes, Costa Brava's southern-most town. Before touring the gardens, take some time to relax in Tossa de Mar. It's a rare, successful mix of historic village and seaside resort.
For your return trip, you'll explore inland areas. If you're feeling tired, stop at the Caldes de Malavella thermal spa to regain your energy. Continue on to Girona and take in the beautiful monuments sitting in the shadows of the town's impressive cathedral. You can sleep by the astonishing Lake of Banyoles, the largest natural lake in Catalonia and Spain. Then drive until you reach the Pyrenees foothills, where you'll cross through the famous Col du Perthus mountain pass.

We suggest you set off on your Costa Brava campervan adventure from our WeVan rental location in Perpignan.

Road-trip sur la Costa Brava

La Costa Brava, au nord-est de la Catalogne, s'étend de la frontière française, au sud de Perpignan, jusqu'à Blanes, au nord-est de Barcelone. Costa Brava ne signifie pas côté brave, mais « côte démontée », en référence à son littoral très découpé et escarpé, une destination idéale en van aménagé de location.

En plus du farniente et de nombreux sports outdoor, elle vous proposera un patrimoine culturel particulièrement riche. Vous commencerez votre périple par la région de l'Alt Empordà, moins connue par son nom que par son grand peintre Salvador Dalí, dont vous visiterez la maison à Port Lligat, à proximité de Cadaqués. Si vous y venez hors-saison ou en fin de journée, après le pic touristique, Cadaqués vous révélera tous ses charmes méditerranéens. Vous pourrez aussi découvrir de nombreuses oeuvres du maître à Figueres, au Théâtre-musée Dalí dont l'architecture est en soi, une folie surréaliste... Cadaqués est entourée par le magnifique Parc Naturel du Cap de Creus et son maquis typiquement méditerranéen. L'Alt Empordà, c'est aussi le majestueux Monastère de Sant Pere de Rodes, les ruines gréco-romaines d'Empúries, le village médiéval de Sant Marti d'Empúries, les petits ports de pêche et les nombreuses criques de sable fin. Tous les ingrédients sont alors réunis pour finir la journée par un bel apéro de tapas à bord de votre van aménagé, face à la mer.

Votre fourgon aménagé vous conduira ensuite vers la région de la Baix Empordà, au centre de la Costa Brava. Vous ferez une halte à Estartit, joli port de pêche, d'où vous pourrez prendre un bateau à pour les Îles Medes, une réserve naturelle riche en espèces marines. Une infidélité à votre van qu'il ne saurait vous reprocher...Plus au sud, débutent les zones de calanques de Begur. Dans l'arrière-pays, vous visiterez des villages historiques, Ullastret, Pals où les passionnés de golf pourront ajouter un parcours à leur palmarès, le Golf Platja de Pals. Pour les amoureux des activités nautiques, vous serez aussi servis et pourrez pratiquer votre sport favori dans l'une des grandes stations balnéaires de la région, Palamós, Platja d'Aro...

 

Vous poursuivrez votre van-trip dans la Selva, aussi dénommée « région de l'eau » tant elle est présente en ce lieu. Pas étonnant d'y trouver deux magnifiques jardins botaniques, le Jardí Botànic Tropical Pinya de Rosa et les jardins de Santa Clotilde, tous deux situés entre Lloret de Mar et Blanes, la ville la plus au sud de la Costa Brava. Avant d'attaquer la visite des jardins, vous vous serez offert un moment de détente dans la jolie Tossa de Mar, un mix rare et réussi entre ville historique et station balnéaire...
Pour votre voyage de retour, vous passerez par les terres. Si vous vous sentez fatigué, vous ferez une halte dans la station thermale de Caldes de Malavella qui vous redonnera du tonus. Vous ferez une halte à Girona et ses beaux monuments, surplombés par son impressionnante cathédrale. Vous pourrez dormir face à l'étonnant Lac de Banyoles, le plus grand lac naturel de Catalogne et d'Espagne. Vous parviendrez au pied des Pyrénées que vous franchirez au fameux col du Perthus.

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, sur la Costa Brava, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Perpignan.