Sologne & Sancerrois by Campervan

When you want to escape for a weekend or longer, off the beaten trail and deep in nature, head out behind the wheel of a rental campervan through the great Sologne forest in Loir-et-Cher, then continue on towards Sancerrois and its famous vineyards, in Cher.

These two departments in the Centre-Val-de-Loire region are so different even though they're quite close geographically – it will feel like you're taking two trips.
Just an hour from Tours on the A10 motorway, not far from Blois, and you'll arrive at Sologne, or to be precise, the Château de Chambord, an architectural gem from the Renaissance. Be sure to visit its French gardens and take a walk or a bike ride through its large park where you may be lucky enough to see a few wild animals and hear the famous stag bellows in autumn. With your campervan, you can enjoy Sologne's attractions to the fullest, including the natural forest that covers three quarters of the region, and its lakes including the largest – called Etang du Puits – that is so vast you can go sailing and water skiing on it, as well as enjoy swimming and fishing. During your travels, you will go through typical villages with their brick and half-timbered homes, including Chaumont-sur-Tharonne, Mennetou-sur-Cher, Saint-Viâtre and Souvigny-en-Sologne.

Make use of your van's fully-equipped kitchen to try a few local products. Wild game is abundant here, as are well-known goat's cheeses such as the one from Selles-sur-Cher. This is also the land of the Tatin sisters and their famous tart. In eastern Sologne, follow the Loire south from Sully-sur-Loire and its famous medieval chateau surrounded by moats. You'll pass through Gien and its ceramics factory, then Briare and its aqueduct that is included on the Historic Monuments list. Next, you'll come to Sancerre, a charming village built at the top of a hill that towers over the Loire Valley. You're in the land of great, well-known AOC vineyards such as Pouilly, Sancerre, Menetou-Salon and Quincy. You'll have to decide between drinking and driving, so why not spend the evening, and the night, on location in your comfortable campervan. To get you back in shape, Sancerrois has many hikes that will take you through valleys and vineyards, along viaducts and the Loire's banks.

Make your way back to Bourges on the little roads that wind through vineyard-covered hillsides. A few kilometres from Sancerre, make a quick stop in Chavignol to sample a delicious little goat's cheese, Crottin de Chavignol. In Bourges, visit Cathédrale Saint-Etienne and the Palais de Jacques Coeur, a merchant-adventurer from the Middle Ages who probably would have enjoyed travelling in a campervan. Have you heard of Bruère-Allichamps? Probably not, yet it's at the geographic centre of France and is less than 40 kilometres south of Bourges.
We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure through Sologne and Sancerrois from our WeVan rental location in Tours.

Sologne & Sancerrois en campervan

Vous recherchez une idée d'escapade pour un week-end ou plus, hors des sentiers battus, au coeur de la nature, partez au volant d'un van aménagé de location à travers la grande forêt de Sologne, dans le Loir et Cher et poursuivez vers le Sancerrois et ses vignobles réputés, dans le Cher.

Vous ferez deux voyages en un, tellement il y a de différences entre ces deux départements de la région Centre-Val de Loire, pourtant si proches géographiquement.
A une heure de Tours par l'Autoroute A10, non loin de Blois, vous êtes aux portes de la Sologne, plus précisément au Château de Chambord, joyau de l'architecture de la Renaissance. Ne manquez pas ses jardins à la française et baladez-vous à pied ou en vélo, dans son grand parc où vous aurez peut-être la chance d'apercevoir quelques animaux sauvages et, en automne, d'entendre le fameux brame du cerf. Avec votre fourgon aménagé, vous profitez au maximum des atouts solognots, sa forêt naturelle qui couvre les trois-quarts de la région, ses étangs dont le plus grand est l'Etang du Puits, si vaste que vous pouvez y pratiquer la voile, le ski nautique, sans oublier la baignade et la pêche. Au gré de votre voyage, vous traversez des villages typiques avec leurs maisons en briques et colombages : Chaumont sur Tharonne, Mennetou sur Cher, Saint-Viâtre, Souvigny en Sologne...

Profitez de la cuisine aménagée de votre van pour déguster quelques produits locaux, le gibier est abondant, les fromages de chèvre réputés, notamment le Selles sur Cher, et vous êtes au pays des soeurs Tatin et de leur fameuse tarte. A l'Est de la Sologne, longez la Loire vers le sud depuis Sully sur Loire et son château médiéval entouré de douves, en passant par Gien et sa Manufacture de faïence puis Briare et son pont-canal inscrit aux Monuments Historiques. Vous arrivez à Sancerre, une charmante bourgade construite au sommet d'une colline qui domine la vallée de la Loire. Vous êtes au coeur d'un grand vignoble aux AOC fort réputés : Pouilly, Sancerre, Menetou-Salon, Quincy... Entre boire et conduire, il vous faudra choisir, alors passez la soirée et la nuit, sur place, dans votre confortable campervan. Pour vous remettre en forme, le Sancerrois compte de nombreuses randonnées entre vallons, vignes, bords de Loire et viaducs.

Rejoignez Bourges par les petites routes qui serpentent parmi les coteaux couverts de vignes. A quelques kilomètres de Sancerre, faîtes une petite halte à Chavignol pour déguster un délicieux petit fromage de chèvre, le Crottin de Chavignol. A Bourges, visitez la Cathédrale Saint-Etienne et le Palais de Jacques Coeur, un aventurier-marchand du Moyen-Age, qui aurait probablement aimé voyager en van aménagé. Connaissez-vous le village de Bruère-Allichamps ? Probablement non et c'est pourtant le centre géométrique de la France, à moins de 40 kilomètres au sud de Bourges.
Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Sologne et dans le Sancerrois, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Tours.