Wandering Through Bordeaux

Rambling your way through the Bordeaux vineyards in a campervan, like the Mercedes Marco Polo or Volkswagen California, is an absolute must.

And, once you've set up camp at the end of the day, you can enjoy a few good vintages you've picked up along the wine route before comfortably drifting off to sleep among the vines - without heading back out on the road, obviously. This is the magic of travelling in a campervan!

Before leaving the city of Bordeaux, visit the Cité du Vin museum for an immersion in wine culture. Wine tourism in the vast Bordeaux region focuses on five wine routes. Heading northwest from Bordeaux, you'll drive the Route des Châteaux, which passes through Médoc vineyards with prestigious names: Margaux, Saint-Julien, Pauillac, Saint-Estèphe and others. You will be spell-bound by the chateaux that appear at nearly every turn. Continue along this route to Verdon-sur-Mer, located between the mouth of the Gironde river and the Atlantic Ocean. If you feel the sea calling you, ditch your van for a few hours and go on a mini cruise around the impressive Cordouan lighthouse, the Garonne estuary's immutable guardian.

 

Head back towards Bordeaux and cross the Gironde on a ferry towards Blaye and its chateau, which is a UNESCO heritage site. From Blaye, explore the Route des Côteaux, with its wonderful Côte de Blaye and Côte de Bourg appellations. It runs along the estuary's shoreline on a stunning corniche. Take in a magnificent view of the Gironde river's mouth from the Tayac and Eyquem chateaux.
Head to the third route in your rental campervan, which is just as pleasant to drive as a saloon car. This is the Route du Patrimoine, which will take you to Saint-Émilion, an area known for its exceptional wines as well as a beautiful medieval city that UNESCO has designated a world heritage site. If you don't enjoy crowds, visit Saint-Émilion in the early morning... you'll just have the city's night watch for company. It's truly a magical time to explore! The surrounding countryside is completely different from Médoc, with gentle vineyard-covered hills. This is the ideal spot for a nice bicycle ride, followed by a little aperitif and a good lunch on the "terrace" under your Volkswagen California campervan's outdoor awning.

The Route des Bastides winds through Entre Deux Mers, the largest vineyard in Bordeaux. Its name comes from its location between the Dordogne to the north and the Garonne to the south. You'll drive past monasteries from the Middle Ages in your trusty campervan, including Sauve-Majeure Abbey, a masterpiece of Romanesque architecture, and Blasimon, which combines Roman and Gothic influences. Visit bastides typical of the region, like the one in Sauveterre de Guyenne, as well as chateaux, such as Cadillac, where Henri IV stayed.
To get back on the Route des Graves, all you have to do is head south across the Garonne. There, you'll find a variety of wines that are well-known even outside France, from Pessac-Léognan, Sauternes (including its sweet white wines) and many others. You'll be minutes away from the great forest in Landes where you can enjoy an excursion for a little change of scenery.

We suggest you set off on your Bordeaux campervan adventure from our WeVan rental location in Bordeaux.

Flâneries bordelaises

Se balader au coeur des vignobles bordelais en campervan, à l'instar du Mercedes Marco Polo ou du Volkswagen California, est un must.

Et en fin de journée, une fois votre petit bivouac établi, vous pourrez déguster à bord quelques bons crus glanés sur la route des vins, avant de vous endormir confortablement au milieux des ceps. Sans reprendre le volant évidemment, c'est la magie du van aménagé !

Avant même de quitter la ville de Bordeaux, vous visiterez la Cité du vin, une véritable immersion dans la culture du vin. L'oenotourisme dans le très vaste vignoble bordelais s'organise autour de cinq routes des vins. En remontant vers le nord-ouest, depuis Bordeaux vous roulerez sur la Route des Châteaux qui traverse les vignobles du Médoc aux noms prestigieux, Margaux, Saint-Julien, Pauillac, Saint-Estèphe... Vous tomberez sous le charme des châteaux que vous découvrirez quasiment à chaque virage. Vous poursuivrez votre route jusqu'au Verdon-sur-mer, entre embouchure de la Gironde et Océan Atlantique. Si vous ressentez l'appel de la mer, vous abandonnerez quelques heures votre van aménagé, pour une mini-croisière qui vous conduira autour de l'impressionnant Phare de Cordouan, immuable gardien de l'estuaire de la Garonne.

 

En redescendant vers Bordeaux, vous traverserez la Gironde, en empruntant un bac vers Blaye et sa citadelle classée au patrimoine de l'Unesco. Depuis Blaye, vous découvrirez la Route des Côteaux, avec ses belles appellations Côte de Blaye et Côte de Bourg. Elle longe la rive de l'estuaire via une étonnante corniche. Les châteaux de Tayac et d'Eyquem vous offriront une superbe vue sur l'embouchure de la Gironde.
Vous rejoindrez la troisième route dans votre fourgon aménagé de location, aussi agréable à conduire qu'une berline. C'est la Route du Patrimoine, celle qui vous mènera à Saint-Émilion, aussi connue pour ses vins d'exception que pour la beauté de sa cité médiévale, classée au Patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco. Si vous n'aimez pas la foule, visitez Saint-Émilion au crépuscule, accompagné du veilleur de nuit de la ville. Vous en ressentirez toute la magie ! Le paysage environnant est totalement différent de celui du Médoc, avec ses douces collines couvertes de vignes. C'est l'endroit idéal pour une belle balade en vélo, suivi d'un petit apéro et d'un bon déjeuner « en terrasse » à l'ombre du store extérieur de votre campervan Volkswagen California.

La Route des Bastides traverse l'Entre Deux Mers, le plus grand vignoble du Bordelais, qui doit son nom au fait qu'il est cerné par la Dordogne au Nord et la Garonne au sud. Vous roulerez dans votre van aménagé, au gré des abbayes moyenâgeuses, notamment celle de La Sauve-Majeure, un chef d'oeuvre de l'art roman et celle de Blasimon, qui mixe roman et gothique. Vous visiterez des bastides typiques telles que celle de Sauveterre de Guyenne et des châteaux, par exemple, celui de Cadillac où séjourna Henri IV.
Pour rejoindre la Route des Graves, il vous suffira de franchir la Garonne, vers les sud. Vous y découvrirez des vins variés, dont le prestige dépasse largement nos frontières, Pessac-Léognan, Sauternes et ses vins blancs liquoreux et bien d'autres encore. Vous serez aux portes de la grande forêt des Landes où vous serez ravi de faire une incursion, pour changer des vignobles...

Pour votre découverte du Bordelais en van aménagé, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Bordeaux.