Camargue by Campervan

The Camargue Regional Nature Park is located in the Rhone delta, with typical landscapes shaped by the river.

Hiring a campervan for the weekend or a week is an excellent way to explore this wild location that's so different from any other place in France. Nature in Camargue is so exceptional that it has been classified as a biosphere reserve by UNESCO. Camargue benefits from a lovely climate due to its location along the Mediterranean, an additional advantage for your road trip by van.
As you drive along in your campervan, you'll be surprised by the diversity of Camargue's landscapes, which include ponds, canals, flooded prairies, paddies, and salt flats, all of which provide the perfect habitat for birds, especially wader species like pink flamingos, herons, storks, ibis and more. Bird watchers will be thrilled, especially when they visit the Ornithological Park of Pont de Gau.

 

During your road trip in Camargue, be sure to stop in a manade where you will find herders and bulls, two regional symbols that illustrate the symbiotic relationship between Camargue's inhabitants and nature. Leave your campervan for a bit to enjoy an incredible horse ride deep in Camargue's countryside. To enhance your appetite for Camargue culture, sample one of the regional culinary specialities, such as Gardianne de Taureau (Rancher's Stew) with beef from Camargue bulls over Camargue rice or telline soup, made from shellfish accompanied by fish caught nearby and seasoned with products typically associated with Provence: Herbes de Provence, olive oil and pastis.
Villages in Camargue are worth visiting, especially since your mini camper is just as easy to park as a car. Wander through Arles as you follow in Van Gogh's footsteps. Visit the Roman monuments listed as UNESCO world heritage sites, especially the arenas where you may be lucky enough to witness a Camargue bullfight, which truly demonstrates the participants' dexterity as they attempt to grab the "prize-winning attributes", ribbons attached to and between the bull's horns. In this bullfighting style, the bull is not killed. If you travel to Camargue in the summer, you simply must attend the Rencontres d'Arles, a world-renowned photography festival.

 

Aigues-Mortes is another can't-miss area for those who love old stones. Its ramparts overlook the Camargue plain, ponds and salt flats. A bit of vanlife advice: explore this area in the early morning, late in the day or during the off season when the natural lighting is so beautiful and tourists are fewer. Camargue's southern border is located on the Mediterranean and although the coast is quite wild, it still has two well-known seaside resorts: Le Grau-du-Roi with its fishing port and Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Camargue's capital city. You can choose from numerous nautical activities there, including sailing, stand up paddleboarding, kite surfing, land sailing, sea fishing and of course swimming and relaxing on Camargue's beaches. Hikers and cyclists haven't been forgotten and there are many themed routes for exploring Camargue, including Digue à la mer (sea dyke), Circuit des flamands roses et du sel (flamingo and salt route), and Draille de Méjanes (Méjanes transhumance trail).

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure through Camargue from our WeVan rental location in Montpellier.

La Camargue en campervan

Le Parc Naturel Régional de Camargue se situe dans le delta du Rhône qui en façonne les si typiques paysages.

Louer un van aménagé, pour un week-end ou une semaine, est un excellent moyen de découvrir ce site si sauvage, qui ne ressemble à aucun autre en France. La nature camarguaise est si exceptionnelle qu'elle est classée réserve de biosphère par l'Unesco. Située au bord de la Méditerranée, la Camargue bénéficie de son climat. Un atout supplémentaire pour un road-trip en van.
Au volant de votre campervan, vous êtes surpris par la diversité de ses paysages, entre étangs, canaux, prairies inondées, rizières, marais salants qui constituent autant de lieux de vie pour les oiseaux, notamment les échassiers : flamands roses, hérons, cigognes, ibis... Les passionnés d'ornithologie sont à la fête, particulièrement dans le Parc Ornithologique du Pont de Gau.

 

Au gré de votre road-trip camarguais, faîtes une halte dans une manade où vous rencontrerez gardians et taureaux, deux symboles de la région et de la symbiose si forte entre les camarguais et la nature. Quittez provisoirement votre fourgon aménagé pour une incontournable balade à cheval, au coeur de la Camargue. Pour parfaire votre culture camarguaise, vous y dégusterez l'une des spécialités culinaires régionales, une gardianne de taureau de Camargue garnie de riz de Camargue ou une soupe de tellines, des coquillages accompagnés de poissons pêchés non loin de là et assaisonnée de produits typiquement provençaux : herbes de Provence, huile d'olive et pastis.
Les villes camarguaises méritent le détour, d'autant plus que votre mini-camping-car est aussi facile à garer qu'une voiture. Flânez dans Arles, sur les traces de Van Gogh. Visitez ses monuments romains inscrits au Patrimoine Mondial de l'Unesco, notamment ses arènes où vous aurez peut-être la chance d'assister à une course camarguaise, une véritable démonstration de dextérité des participants qui tentent d'attraper les « attributs primés », fixés entre et sur les cornes du taureau, ce dernier n'étant pas mis à mort. Si votre périple camarguais se déroule en été, ne manquez sous aucun prétexte les Rencontres d'Arles, un festival de photographie réputé dans le monde entier.

 

Autre cité camarguaise incontournable pour les amoureux des vieilles pierres : Aigues-Mortes et ses remparts qui dominent la plaine camarguaise, les étangs et les salins. Un conseil vanlife, à découvrir plutôt au petit matin ou en fin de journée, ou hors-saison quand les lumières naturelles sont si belles et les touristes un peu moins nombreux... La Camargue est bordée au sud par la Méditerranée et, bien que la côte soit très sauvage, elle compte deux stations balnéaires réputées : Le Grau du Roi et son port de pêche, et les Saintes Maries de la Mer, la capitale de la Camargue. De nombreuses activités nautiques vous y attendent : voile, paddle, kite-surf, char à voile, pêche en mer, sans oublier la baignade et le farniente sur les plages de Camargue. Les randonneurs et les cyclistes ne sont pas oubliés et de nombreux circuits thématiques ont été créés pour découvrir la Camargue, avec entre autres : La digue à la mer, le Circuit des flamands roses et du sel, la Draille de Méjanes...

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Camargue, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Montpellier.