The Northern Alps in a van

The Northern Alps include three departments: Haute-Savoie, Savoie and Isère, extending from Lake Geneva in the north to Col du Lautaret in the south. While primarily known for its winter sports, this is also an excellent area to explore in a rental campervan for your summer holiday adventure.

Its winding roads will make you appreciate your Mercedes Marco Polo or Volkswagen California campervan's comfortable ride. They'll lead you from peak to peak - including some that have become famous during the Tour de France: Galibier, Croix de Fer, Madeleine and Iseran - towards high mountain landscapes that will take your breath away. You'll drive beside magnificent Alpine lakes, such as Lac d'Aiguebelette, Lac du Bourget and Lac d'Annecy. You'll drop down into verdant valleys, dotted with mountain huts, and pass through beautiful Alpine forests, winding your way towards the highest summits in the Alps...and all of Europe! Spend unforgettable evenings in your campervan, parked in the most beautiful parts of Vercors, Bauges, Chartreuse Mountains and Vanoise National Park, which is filled with local plants and wildlife. You might even see some ibex or marmots.

The Northern Alps are also a playground for outdoor sports and leisure activities deep in nature. For those who love whitewater adventures, the many rivers and mountain streams are ideal for rafting and canyoning. Anyone who likes calmer water will enjoy an outing to one of the Northern Alps' mountain lakes for stand up paddleboarding, canoeing, kayaking or just a quick dip. Clearly, the Northern Alps region is also a favourite among land-based sports fans. There's a long list of activities you can enjoy: hiking, trekking, climbing, via ferrata, mountaineering, cycling, mountain biking and more. And those who want a bird's eye view of the beautiful Alpine panoramas can get some air with a hang glider, paraglider or parachute. Renting a campervan is one of the easiest ways to get as close as possible to all these outdoor adventures.


After expending all that energy, you deserve some time to relax around a nice dinner prepared in your campervan's kitchen with local products like diots and crozets, followed by farm-fresh Reblochon from Aravis and an Alpine tart. And if you aren't heading back out on the road, pair your meal with a Savoie wine and end your feast with a bit of Génépi liqueur. Or if you're really tired, you may want to try out a little local restaurant where you can sample some of the regional dishes, like raclette, tartiflette, Savoie fondue or gratin dauphinois.
Your Alpine trek will take you on to Chamonix, at the base of Mont Blanc, the Alpine king. There, make a long stop to enjoy its many wonders, like the Mer de Glace glacier that you reach via the Montenvers rack rail train, as well as the Aiguille du Midi with its landscaped terraces.
Newer campervans have auxiliary heating so you can use them to visit Northern Alps winter sports resorts for skiing or snowboarding in the winter.

We suggest you set off on your Northern Alps campervan adventure from our WeVan rental location in Chambéry or Lyon.

Les Alpes du Nord en van

Les Alpes du Nord couvrent trois départements : Haute-Savoie, Savoie et Isère, depuis le Lac Léman, au Nord, jusqu'au Col du Lautaret, au sud. Surtout connues pour les sports d'hiver, elles n'en sont pas moins, un excellent terrain d'aventures pour passer d'inoubliables vacances d'été, en van aménagé de location.

Les routes sinueuses, sur lesquelles vous apprécierez le confort de conduite de votre Mercedes Marco Polo ou Volkswagen California, vous emmèneront, de cols en cols dont certains ont été rendus célèbres par le Tour de France, Galibier, Croix de fer, Madeleine, Iseran, vers des paysages de haute montagne, à couper le souffle. Vous longerez de magnifiques lacs alpins, Lac d'Aiguebelette, Lac du Bourget, Lac d'Annecy, vous surplomberez des vallées verdoyantes, parsemées de chalets d'alpage, vous traverserez de belles forêts alpines et découvrirez, au gré des tournants, les plus hauts sommets des Alpes... et d'Europe. Vous passerez d'inoubliables nuits, dans votre fourgon aménagé, au coeur des plus beaux territoires alpins, le Vercors, les Bauges, le Massif de la Chartreuse, le Parc National de la Vanoise, un concentré de flore et de faune locale. Vous y apercevrez peut-être bouquetins et autres marmottes...

Les Alpes du Nord, c'est aussi un immense terrain de sports et de loisirs en plein air, au plus près de la nature. Pour les sportifs en eaux-vives, les nombreuses rivières et torrents vous inviterons à pratiquer le rafting ou le canyoning. Ceux qui préfèrent les eaux plus calmes seront séduits par un tour en paddle, en canoë-kayak ou par un simple « plouf » dans l'un des nombreux lacs de montagne des Alpes du Nord ! Évidemment, les Alpes du Nord représentent le spot de prédilection des amateurs de sports terrestres, randonnée, trekking, escalade, via ferrata , alpinisme, cyclisme, VTT, la longue liste n'est pas close... Et pour ceux qui éprouveraient l'envie de s'envoyer en l'air pour découvrir les beaux panoramas alpins d'encore plus haut, deltaplanes, parapentes et parachutes les attendent. La location d'un campervan représente l'un des moyens les plus efficace pour vivre au plus près de toutes ces passions outdoor.

 

Après ces efforts, vous aurez bien mérité un bon moment de détente autour d'un bon petit dîner préparé dans la cuisine de votre van, à base de produits régionaux, des diots et des crozets, suivis d'un reblochon fermier des Aravis et d'une tarte des Alpes. Et si vous ne reprenez pas la route, vous accompagnerez votre repas d'un Vin de Savoie et conclurez vos agapes, avec un petit Génépi. Si vous êtes très fatigué, vous choisirez un petit restaurant typique où vous dégusterez l'un des nombreux mets locaux, raclette, tartiflette, fondue savoyarde, gratin dauphinois...
Votre périple alpin vous conduira jusqu'à Chamonix, au pied massif du Massif du Mont-Blanc, le roi des Alpes. Vous y ferez une longue halte pour profiter de toutes les richesses qu'il vous propose, la Mer de glace que vous rejoindrez avec le train à crémaillère du Montenvers, l'Aiguille du Midi et ses terrasses aménagées...
Les vans aménagés nouvelle génération disposent d'un chauffage indépendant, vous pourrez ainsi aller skier, en hiver, dans les stations de sports d'hiver des Alpes du Nord.

Pour votre périple dans les Alpes du Nord, en van aménagé, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Chambéry ou WeVan Lyon.