Basque Adventure in a campoer

If you talk to a Basque person about French Basque Country and Spanish Basque Country, they will not be amused. For Basque people, there is only one Basque Country, so if you plan to take a road trip there in your campervan, it's best to forget about the French/Spanish border.

There are so many things to see and do on both sides. Basque Country has a very unique culture, with its own language, traditions, foods and even sports. Nearly all Basque towns have a Basque pelota fronton (court). Be sure to watch a game of Basque pelota in Biarritz or Saint-Jean de Luz where the pro players exiled in Florida come to put on a demonstration in the summer. The show is worth the detour! In Guipuscoa and Biscaye, you can watch incredible rowing regattas between fishing ports in the region (Bermeo, Mundaka and Elantxobe). These competitions are just as popular as Oxford vs Cambridge rowing races.

Beyond the well-known seaside resorts like Biarritz, Bidart, Guéthary, St Jean de Luz and others that boast world-famous surfing spots, your campervan will help you explore the amazing Donostia-St Sébastien coast towards Bilboa. In Donostia, try out the "best tapas in the world", explore this steep coast's marvellous landscapes, and walk to the incredible San Juan de Gaztelugatxe hermitage on the peninsula. Since your rental campervan parks just like a car, you can stop anywhere you want to spend unforgettable evenings and nights overlooking these magnificent maritime panoramas.
Basque Country is also mountain country. Head to the top of La Rhune, a few kilometres from Saint-Jean de Luz, for a magnificent view of the area. Sare and Ainhoa are towns at La Rhune's base, bursting with typical Basque architectural gems. You'll probably want to visit them during the off-season. If you and your van want something a bit calmer, travel further into the Pyrénées above Saint-Jean Pied de Port. This is the iconic stage of the Routes of St Jacques de Compostelle. If you like to hike, the GR 10 awaits you. There, you will come across the last wild horses, called pottoks.

And if you are a foodie, as well as a partier, you won't be disappointed. The list of Basque specialities is long: Bayonne chipirons, ham and chocolate, as well as Espelette pepper, piperade, Basque cherry cake and Irouléguy, an excellent local wine we suggest consuming in moderation. After all that, you'll be ready to participate in the famous Bayonne festivals or those further south in Pamplona: the running of the bulls through the streets of the city... a true adventure! If you prefer more intimate festivals, you'll be glad to know that each Basque town has its own. After a few drinks at these festivals, head to bed in your van right where you are so you don't have to go back out on the road. There are so many other things to explore and activities to try in Basque Country, or in Vanlife Country, if such a thing exists!

We suggest you set off on your Basque Country campervan adventure from our WeVan rental locations in Toulouse.

Périple basque en camper

Si vous parlez à un basque du Pays basque français et du Pays basque espagnol, il ne sera pas votre ami. Pour les basques, il n'y a qu'un Pays Basque et le mieux, si vous envisagez d'y faire un road-trip en fourgon aménagé, c'est d'oublier la frontière franco-espagnole.

Il y a tant de choses à faire et à voir des deux côtés. Le Pays Basque, c'est une culture bien spécifique, avec sa langue, ses traditions, sa cuisine et même ses sports. Il est très rare qu'un village Basque ne possède pas de fronton de pelote basque et vous ne pourrez manquer d'assister à une partie de pelote basque à Biarritz ou Saint-Jean de Luz où les joueurs pros « éxilés » en Floride viennent faire des démonstrations, l'été. Le spectacle vaut le détour ! En Guipuscoa et en Biscaye, vous aurez la possibilité d'assister à d'incroyables régates de bateaux à rames qui opposent les ports de pêche de ces régions, Bermeo, Mundaka, Elantxobe, et les confrontations connaissent le même engouement que celui des courses Oxford contre Cambridge, en aviron.

Au-delà des stations balnéaires les plus connues, Biarritz, Bidart, Guéthary, St Jean de Luz, entre autre, parce qu'elles recèlent des spots de surf mondialement connues, votre campervan vous amènera à découvrir l'étonnante côte de Donostia-St Sébastien jusqu'à Bilbao. Vous ne manquerez pas de goûter les « meilleures tapas du monde » à Donostia, de découvrir les merveilleux paysages de cette côte escarpée, de marcher jusqu'à l'incroyable ermitage San Juan de Gastelugatxe, planté sur sa presqu'île. Grâce à votre van de location qui se gare comme une voiture, vous vous arrêterez où vous voulez pour passer d'inoubliables soirées et nuits, face à de magnifiques panoramas maritimes.
Le Pays Basque, c'est aussi la montagne. L'ascension de la Rhune, à quelques kilomètres de Saint-Jean de Luz, offre un magnifique point de vue sur la région. Au pied de la Rhune, les villages de Sare ou Ainhoa sont de véritables petits bijoux d'architecture typiquement basque. À visiter plutôt hors saison... Si vous et votre van recherchez plus de calme, vous pénétrerez plus loin dans les Pyrénées, au-delà de Saint-Jean Pied de Port, étape phare du Chemin de St Jacques de Compostelle et si vous êtes randonneur, le GR 10 vous attend. Vous y rencontrerez les derniers chevaux sauvages, appelés pottoks.

Et si vous êtes un gastronome, doublé d'un fêtard, vous ne serez pas déçu. Longue est la liste des spécialités basques : les chipirons, le jambon et le chocolat de Bayonne, le piment d'Espelète, la piperade...et le gâteau basque aux cerises, sans oublier l'Irouléguy, un excellent vin local à consommer avec modération. Vous serez fin prêt pour participer aux fameuses fêtes de Bayonne, ou beaucoup plus au sud, à celles de Pampelune, et son encierro, un lâcher de taureaux à travers les rues de la ville, une véritable aventure...Si vous préférez les fêtes plus intimistes, vous serez comblé, chaque village basque a la sienne. Après ces fêtes légèrement arrosées, vous dormirez sur place, dans votre van, ce qui vous évitera de reprendre la route... Il reste bien d'autres richesses à découvrir et d'activités à pratiquer au Pays Basque, Pays vanlife s'il en est un !

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, au Pays Basque, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location We-Van Bordeaux ou WeVan Toulouse.