Roadtrip in Andalusia

While primarily known for its large cities like Sevilla, Granada and Córdoba, Andalusia is also worth visiting for its incredible diversity, landscapes, olive groves, white villages, sierras, nature parks, history and rich culture.

If you drove along the Mediterranean coast through Valencia and Alicante to reach southern Spain, your Andalusian adventure will begin in the province of Almeria with the Cabo de Gata-Níjar Natural Park, which features coves, cliffs and wide beaches. The Almeria region is known for its wild desert landscapes where more than 500 films have been shot, including Sergio Leone's epic westerns. Leave your cosy van for a few hours to follow in Indiana Jones's footsteps, either on foot or in a 4x4, through the Tabernas desert and the Alhamilla sierra. Drive through the Sierra Nevada Natural Park, a UNESCO biosphere reserve, where you'll see high peaks that include Mulhacén, which reaches 3481m and looms over the village of Trevélez. This is the ideal departure for hiking and the Sierra Nevada's winter sports resort with a view over the Mediterranean Sea. You're just 32km from Grenada and its incredible Alhambra palace. A WeVan tip: reserve your ticket online in advance. Attend a Flamenco show in a cave or on a patio in the Sacromonte neighbourhood to enjoy this Gitano dance. If you want to get your heart racing, take a detour on the Caminito del Rey, considered one of the most dangerous trails in the world with footpaths over the Los Gaitanes gorge. So impressive! Head on to Ronda, a pretty stage on the Ruta de los Almorávides y Almohades from Grenada to Tarifa along the Strait of Gibraltar. Visit the Plaza de Toros de Ronda, among the oldest in Spain, and relax at the ancient Hammams, a series of baths with hot, warm and cold water housed in authentic architectural surroundings.

With your rental campervan, you're all set to wind along the White Villages Route near Arcos de la Frontera. If you hear the sea calling after this bucolic stage, head to Cadix and the Atlantic Ocean less than an hour away. La Costa de la Luz (light) has earned its name. The wide beaches there are perfect for playing all kinds of water sports, including swimming, sailing, surfing, kite surfing, etc. As you drive along the coast towards the north, stop at the Doñana National Park, just before the mouth of the Guadalquivir. Leave your campervan for a few hours to go on an equestrian adventure through the dunes. After this break in nature, you can head towards the Algarve in Portugal or head to Sevilla, the pearl of Andalusia. Visit the cathedral that is home to Christopher Columbus's imposing tomb, Giralda, the Alcazar palace, Plaza de España, and Casa de Pilatos with its magnificent tiles. Don't forget to wander through the old city's passageways to sample the many tapas bars that are so typical in Sevilla. Continue your van adventure to Córdoba, capital of the Umayyad Caliphate. Lose yourself in the sublime mosque that features more than 500 columns; a true labyrinth within which a Christian cathedral was erected. And even though it's a bit touristy, take a walk through the Jewish quarter.

Your trip through Andalusia will take you among hills covered with olive trees towards Baeza and Ubeda, two cities located on the Andalusian Renaissance Route before arriving at the Sierras de Cazorla, Segura y Las Villas Natural Park, the largest nature reserve in Spain. You may be lucky enough to see an Alpine ibex in these pine-covered mountains, a perfect souvenir to add to your Andalusian memory book before you head back to France.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure through Andalusia from our WeVan rental location in Perpignan or Montpellier.

Roadtrip en Andalousie

Surtout connue pour ses grandes villes, Séville, Grenade, Cordoue, l'Andalousie mérite aussi d'être visitée pour son incroyable diversité, ses paysages, ses oliveraies, ses villages blancs, ses sierras, ses parcs naturels, son histoire et sa culture si fortes.

Si vous avez longé la côte méditerranéenne pour rejoindre le sud de l'Espagne, en passant par Valencia et Alicante, votre périple andalou commence par la province d'Almeria et le Parc Naturel du Cap de Gata-Níjar, ses criques, ses falaises et ses grandes plages. La région d'Almeria est connue pour ses paysages sauvages et désertiques où ont été tournés plus de 500 films parmi lesquels les grands westerns de Sergio Leone. Abandonnez quelques heures votre cher van pour suivre, à pied et en 4X4, les traces d'Indiana Jones, dans le désert de Tabernas et de la sierra Alhamilla. Traversez le Parc Naturel de la Sierra Nevada, déclaré réserve de biosphère par l'UNESCO, avec ses hauts sommets dont le Mulhacén qui culmine à 3481m et domine le village de Trevélez, point de départ idéal pour la randonnée et la station de sports d'hiver de Sierra Nevada, avec vue sur la Mer Méditerranée. Vous êtes à seulement 32 km de Grenade et son incontournable palais de l'Alhambra. Un conseil WeVan, retenez votre visite à l'avance sur internet. Assistez à un spectacle de Flamenco, la danse des gitans, dans une grotte ou un patio du quartier Sacromonte. Les golfeurs se rendront à Marbella, un haut-lieu du golf, sur la Costa del Sol. Si vous aimez les sensations fortes, faîtes un détour par le Caminito del Rey, considéré comme l'un des sentiers les plus dangereux du monde, avec ses passerelles qui surplombent le défilé de Los Gaitanes. Très impressionnant! Rejoignez  Ronda, une jolie étape sur la Route des Almoravides et des Almohades, de Grenade à Tarifa, sur le Détroit de Gibraltar. Visitez les Arènes de Ronda, parmi les premières d'Espagne, et détendez-vous aux anciens Bains Arabes, une succession de bains chauds, tièdes et froids au coeur d'une architecture authentique.

Avec votre van aménagé de location, vous êtes dans les meilleures conditions pour sillonner la Route des Villages Blancs, autour d'Arcos de la Frontera. Si vous ressentez l'appel de la mer, après cette étape bucolique, Cadix et l'Océan Atlantique vous attendent à moins d'une heure de route. La Costa de la Luz (lumière) porte bien son nom et ses grandes plages permettent de pratiquer l'ensemble des sports nautiques : natation, voile, surf, kitesurf... En longeant la côte, vers le nord, rendez-vous au Parc National de Doñana, juste au-dessus de l'embouchure du Guadalquivir. Quittez quelques heures votre fourgon aménagé pour vivre une aventure équestre à travers les dunes. Après cette halte nature, vous pouvez vous diriger vers l'Algarve, au Portugal ou rejoindre Séville, la perle d'Andalousie. Visitez sa cathédrale qui abrite l'imposant tombeau de Christophe Colomb, la Giralda, le Palais de l'Alcazar, la Plaza de España, la Casa de Pilatos et ses magnifiques azuleros... et surtout, flânez au gré des ruelles de la vieille ville, découvrez l'ambiance si typique de Séville dans les nombreux bars à tapas de la ville. Poursuivez votre périple en van vers Cordoue, capitale du Califat des Ommeyades. Perdez-vous  dans sa sublime mosquée avec ses plus de 500 colonnes qui en font un véritable labyrinthe, au coeur duquel a été érigé une cathédrale chrétienne. Et même si c'est un peu touristique, promenez-vous dans les ruelles de la Juderia.

Votre van trip andalou vous conduit à travers des collines couvertes d'oliviers, vers Baeza et Ubeda, deux villes situées sur la Route de la Renaissance Andalouse, avant de rejoindre le Parc Naturel des Sierras de Cazorla, Segura et Las Villas, le plus grand espace naturel protégé d'Espagne. Dans ses montagnes couvertes de pinèdes, vous aurez peut-être la chance d'apercevoir un bouquetin qui viendra compléter la grande galerie de vos souvenirs andalous, avant de remonter vers la France.

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Andalousie, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location We-Van Montpellier.