An Alsatian weekend by campervan

Alsace. It would be hard to encapsulate the many diversities of this region in a few words only. The best way to discover these remains renting a WeVan campervan and setting off in total freedom over an extended weekend, or better yet a whole week. For those lucky ones who can extend their trip, Alsace can be the starting point to other adventures in the Vosges and Jura regions, in Switzerland or in the Black Forest in Germany.

From the Basel-Mulhouse WeVan agency, it will take you about half an hour to reach the Alsace Wine Route in Thann. From there, just let yourself drift along the neat and lovely villages spreading up to Marlenheim. Four of France's Most Beautiful Villages, easier to find than to spell, are scattered along the Wine Route : what with their colorful half-timbered houses, Eguisheim, Riquewihr, Hunawihr et Mittelbergheim, are typical of Alsace architecture. Many houses are covered with flowers, geraniums in particular, which is an Alsatian symbol just like the famous storks.

Alsace strategic position spurred the building of many fortified castles on top of rocky outcrops overlooking the Alsatian Plain. Lots of them, ruined or restaured, are open to visitors and worthy of a detour, such as the Hohlandsbourg Castle, Lichtenberg Castle, Haut-Barr Castle and best known among them, the Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle. A WeVan tip for you to reach this crowded touristic landmark is to park your campervan in Saint-Hippolyte village and hike your way up to the castle. Should you want for a spiritual moment, don't hesitate to detour to Oelenberg Abbey in Reiningue, near Mulhouse, Murbach Abbey, 6hm away from Guebwiller. Or go on a short hiking pilgrimage to Notre Dame du Schauenberg Chapel from Pfaffenheim. On your way, you will be rewarded with a splendid view on the Alsatian Plain from a panoramic terrace.

Amateurs of city bustle, an existing specimen among campervan professional adventurers, will be fulfilled with the visiting of Colmar and Strasbourg. With entire districts of half-timbered houses, and canals all over, these two concentrate the real essence of Alsace’s spirit. A Colmar district also known as the Little Venice, though a bit too touristy for a worshiper of vanlife’s quietness, will be worth a stroll nevertheless. Go and visit the Unterlinden Museum and the awesome Issenheim altarpiece, or the Bartholdi Museum, dedicated to the creator of New York’s Statue of Liberty who was actually born in Colmar. And if you’ve missed up stocking up bottled souvenirs directly from the vineyards, you can make up for the loss at the Alsace Wines’ House in Colmar. In Strasbourg, you will delight in a typical Alsatian canals district called « La Petite France ». This nickname doesn’t stem from a jingoistic stance but from the name of a former institution dedicated to Syphilis sufferers, syphilis being known in the past as « the French disease ». The district kept the name of the institution after it disappeared, but this shabby origin didn’t prevent the « Petite France » to be elected a World Heritage site. In Strasbourg, don’t miss out Notre Dame de Strasbourg Cathedral, built in pink sandstone, a unique hue among French cathedrals. Inside, discover or revisit many of its wonders as the 16 « petals » rose window (as opposed to 12 in most other cathedrals), the monumental piano organ and an astronomical clock. Strasbourg is also a modern city, thanks mostly to the aura of the European Parliament which seat you can visit.

We saved the best for last, that is Alsatian gastronomy, a fairly rich one for that matter, both literally and figuratively ! On the top position you’ve got Sauerkraut with assorted meats, but also Flammekueche (a flame-grilled tart), Baeckeoffe (an Alsatian stew), Riesling Coquerel… to be served with a good Alsatian Wine from reputed vineyards such as Sylvaner, Riesling or Gewurztraminer. Whatever you do, don’t hit the road again with your campervan after such a feast…unless you only tasted the wines with your eyes … Take a Kouglof away with you on your campervan road trip so you can bite into the brioche all along the journey. If you wish to eliminate and stretch your legs, there are many hiking tracks or try a ride on one of the three EuroVélo ( pan-European bike paths ) going throughout Alsace, especially the EuroVélo5, renamed the Alsacian Vineyard Veloroute because it runs parallel to the Wine Route: rather handy if you happen to van-travel this Wine Route.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure in Alsace from our WeVan rental location in Basel-Mulhouse.

Week-end alsacien en van aménagé

L’Alsace, difficile de la résumer en quelques mots tant ses facettes sont nombreuses et tellement spécifiques. Le mieux, pour les découvrir, c’est encore de louer un campervan chez WeVan et partir, en toute liberté, pour un week-end prolongé ou une semaine. Pour les chanceux qui peuvent prolonger leur voyage, l’Alsace leur ouvre les portes des Vosges, du Jura, de la Suisse et de la Forêt Noire, en Allemagne.

Depuis l’agence WeVan Bâle-Mulhouse, comptez une demi-heure environ pour rejoindre la Route des Vins d’Alsace, à Thann. Ensuite, il ne vous reste plus qu’à vous laisser porter au gré des jolis villages bien proprets, jusqu’à Marlenheim. L’Alsace compte quatre Plus Beaux Villages de France, Eguisheim, Riquewihr, Hunawihr et Mittelbergheim, plus simples à trouver, jalonnant tous la Route des Vins, qu’à écrire… Ils sont une vitrine de l’architecture typique d’Alsace, avec ses maisons à colombage, peintes de toutes les couleurs et souvent couvertes de fleurs, notamment de géraniums, un des emblèmes alsaciens, avec les fameuses cigognes.

La position stratégique de l’Alsace en a fait une région de châteaux forts, construits sur des pitons qui dominent la Plaine d’Alsace. Qu’ils soient en ruine ou restaurés, nombre d’entre eux se visitent et méritent le détour, parmi eux,  le Château du Hohlandsbourg, le Château de Lichtenberg, le Château du Haut-Barr et le plus connu d’entre eux, le Château du Haut-Koenigsbourg. Un conseil WeVan pour rejoindre ce château pris d’assaut par des hordes de touristes, déposez votre fourgon aménagé sur le parking du village de Saint-Hippolyte et rejoignez le Haut-Koenigsbourg en randonnée. Pour un moment de recueillement, faîtes un détour par l’Abbaye d’Oelenberg à Reiningue, non loin de Mulhouse, l’Abbaye de Murbach, à 6 km de Guebwiller ou faîtes un petit pèlerinage à pied vers la Chapelle Notre Dame du Schauenberg, depuis Pfaffenheim, une terrasse avec une superbe vue sur la Plaine d’Alsace vous récompensera de vos efforts. 

Les fans d’agitation urbaine et il y en a, même parmi les aventuriers professionnels du campervan, peuvent assouvir leur passion en visitant les villes de Colmar et Strasbourg, des condensés d’Alsace, avec des quartiers entiers de maisons à colombage, sillonnés par des canaux. Un quartier de Colmar porte le nom de Petite Venise, certes c’est un peu touristique pour les adeptes de la tranquillité façon vanlife, mais ça vaut quand même une petite balade. Visitez le Musée Unterlinden et l’impressionnant Retable d'Issenheim, le Musée Bartholdi, le concepteur de la Statue de la Liberté à New-York, né à Colmar. Et, si vous n’avez pas déjà constitué quelques provisions de souvenirs viticoles directement chez les viticulteurs, rendez-vous à la Maison des Vins d’Alsace à Colmar. Strasbourg possède aussi son joli quartier typiquement alsacien, traversé par des canaux : La Petite France. Son nom ne provient pas d’un chauvinisme exacerbé mais du nom d’un ancien établissement destiné aux malades de la syphilis, surnommé « mal français » dans le passé. L’établissement La Petite France a disparu en laissant son nom au quartier. Cette origine, moins noble qu’il n’y paraît, ne l’a pas empêché d’être inscrit au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Humanité.  A Strasbourg, il faut aussi visiter la Cathédrale Notre Dame de Strasbourg, construite en grès rose qui lui confère une couleur inédite parmi les grandes cathédrales françaises. Sa rosace à 16 « pétales » contre 12 pour la plupart des cathédrales), son orgue monumental et son horloge astronomique, autant de richesses intérieures à découvrir ou redécouvrir. Strasbourg, c’est aussi une ville moderne avec le siège du Parlement Européen que l’on peut visiter. 

Nous avons gardé le meilleur pour la fin, la gastronomie alsacienne et elle est riche la gastronomie alsacienne, au propre comme au figuré, avec en majesté la fameuse Choucroute garnie, mais aussi la Flammekueche (tarte flambée), le  Baeckeoffe (potée alsacienne), le Coq au Riesling… Accompagnez-les d’un bon Vin d’Alsace aux cépages si réputés : Sylvaner, Riesling, Gewurztraminer. Et surtout, après de telles agapes, ne reprenez pas le volant de votre fourgon aménagé, sauf si le conducteur s’est contenté de déguster les vins avec les yeux… Pour vous accompagner dans votre van, tout au long du voyage, achetez un Kouglof que vous pourrez manger tout au long de la journée. Pour éliminer et vous dégourdir les jambes, vous pouvez emprunter l’un des nombreux chemins de randonnée ou faire une balade à vélo sur l’un des trois EuroVélo (pistes cyclables pan-européennes) qui traversent l’Alsace, notamment l’EuroVélo 5, rebaptisé Véloroute du Vignoble d’Alsace, parallèle à la Route des Vins. Pratique quand on se déplace en van, justement sur la Route des Vins !

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Alsace, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Bâle-Mulhouse.