Weekend in Perche

Less than two hours west of Paris is a former province south of Normandy that will enthral anyone who wants to get a breath of fresh air: Perche.

 And if you want to get as close as possible to the activities and locations you visit and enjoy them without boundaries, be sure to opt for a rental campervan for your tour.
Perche was divided during the French Revolution, mainly between the Orne and Eure departments, and to a lesser degree, by the Sarthe, Eure, Loir and Cher rivers. But beyond these purely administrative vicissitudes, the Percheron spirit endures, as strong as that of its iconic Percheron horse breed. With your comfortable-to-drive Mercedes Marco Polo, you'll love following the guide signs on Perche Natural Regional Park's calm little roads along one of the themed routes: Circuit des Vallées et Moulins (valleys and mills), Circuit des Forêts et Abbayes (forests and abbeys), Circuit des Sites et Panoramas, Circuit des Châteaux et Etangs (chateaux and ponds). Stop along the way in charming little Percheron cities and towns like Mortagne au Perche, Bellême, Moutiers au Perche, La Ferté-Vidame and La Perrière. In any season, you'll enjoy the walks and hikes through the rolling countryside, the Perche bocage and large forests where mushroom hunters will be delighted at their finds. These include Forêt de Senonches, Forêt de la Trappe, Forêt de Réno-Valdieu and Forêt de Longny au Perche.

There you will spot some large deer among the centuries-old oaks that populate these forests, some of which have been designated historic monuments. Perche is also home to a rich architectural heritage: the imposing Château de la Ferté-Vidame ruins, the charming Château de la Ferté Vidame whose walls are covered in frescos, the pretty Château de la Ferté Vidame that serves as the Perche Natural Regional Park's visitor's centre, the Jardins de la Feuilleraie filled with many mosaics, and the imposing Basilique Notre-Dame de Montligeon that seems lost in the countryside, which inspires its nickname Cathédrale Notre Dame des Champs (of the fields). Other wonders include Château de Frazé, a medieval chateau set deep in a French-style garden and the sumptuous Tombeau de Sully in Nogent le Rotrou. Perche can also be explored by bicycle on the Condé sur Huisne to Alençon greenway. Or get to know the area with Percheron horses, either riding or in a horse-drawn carriage. Perche also features many rivers, some sections of which can be explored by canoe, particularly the pretty Huisne river. If you are a golfer, Perche offers the very prestigious Golf de Bellême course and the magnificent Golf du Perche in Souancé-au-Perche. And while Perche isn't well-known for its mountains, you can still go climbing on the Frétigny water tower.

If you're a bit tired after all these visits and activities, take a break in your comfortable campervan before sampling some excellent local products at your comfy table, such as black pudding (most famously from Mortagne-au-Perche) accompanied with a glass of artisanal apple or pear cider, the perfect beverages from this land of apples and pears. And for dessert, try the Percheron, a local cake made with...you'll never guess...apples, of course.

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure through Perch from our WeVan rental location in Paris.

Week-end dans le Perche

A moins de deux heures à l'Ouest de Paris, il est une ancienne province, au sud de la Normandie, qui séduira tous ceux qui veulent prendre un bon bol d'air et de nature, le Perche.

Et si vous souhaitez en profiter sans contrainte, au plus près des activités et des sites que vous visiterez, alors n'hésitez-pas à opter pour un tour en van aménagé de location !
Le Perche fut divisé lors de la Révolution Française, principalement entre les départements de l'Orne et de l'Eure et, dans une moindre mesure, la Sarthe, l'Eure et le Loir et Cher, mais, au-delà de ces péripéties purement administratives, l'esprit percheron perdure, aussi fort que celui de son emblématique Cheval Percheron. Avec le confort de conduite du Mercedes Marco Polo, vous aimerez circuler sur les petites routes tranquilles du Parc Naturel Régional du Perche qui propose des circuits thématiques fléchés, Circuit des Vallées et Moulins, Circuit des Forêts et Abbayes, Circuit des Sites et Panoramas, Circuit des Châteaux et Etangs... Vous ferez des haltes au gré des charmantes petites villes et villages percherons, Mortagne au Perche, Bellême, Moutiers au Perche, La Ferté-Vidame, La Perrière ... Quelle que soit la saison, vous aimerez les balades et randonnées à travers les paysages vallonnés, le bocage percheron et les grandes forêts où les ramasseurs de champignons seront à la fête, la Forêt de Senonches, la Forêt de la Trappe, la Forêt de Réno-Valdieu, la Forêt de Longny au Perche...

Vous y apercevrez peut-être quelques grands cerfs parmi les chênes centenaires qui peuplent ces forêts, dont certains sont classés Monuments Historiques... Le Perche, c'est aussi un riche patrimoine architectural, les imposantes ruines du Château de la Ferté Vidame, la ravissante Chapelle de Réveillon dont les murs sont couverts de fresques, le joli Manoir de Courboyer, siège de la Maison du Parc Naturel Régional du Perche, les Jardins de la Feuilleraie et leurs nombreuses mosaïques, l'imposante Basilique Notre-Dame de Montligeon, perdue en pleine campagne, d'où son surnom « Cathédrale Notre Dame des Champs », le Château de Frazé, un château médiéval au coeur d'un jardin à la française, le somptueux tombeau de Sully à Nogent le Rotrou... Le Perche se découvre aussi en vélo, avec la Voie Verte de Condé sur Huisne à Alençon, à cheval ou en balade attelée à des chevaux percherons. Le Perche, c'est aussi de nombreuses rivières dont certains tronçons peuvent être parcourus en canoë, notamment sur la jolie rivière de l'Huisne. Si vous êtes golfeur, le Perche vous propose le très prisé Golf de Bellême et le magnifique Golf du Perche à Souancé au Perche. Et même si le Perche n'est pas très reconnu pour ses montagnes, vous pourrez y pratiquer l'escalade sur le château d'eau de Frétigny...

Si vous êtes un peu fatigué par toutes ces visites et activités, vous vous détendrez dans votre confortable fourgon aménagé, avant de déguster, à sa table conviviale, d'excellents produits de terroir, tels que le boudin noir dont la capitale est Mortagne au Perche, accompagné d'un verre de cidre ou de poiré artisanal, normal au pays de la pomme et de la poire. Et pour dessert, un Percheron, un gâteau local aux...vous ne devinerez jamais...pommes, bien sûr.

Pour votre périple dans le Perche, en van aménagé, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Paris.