Aude in a Campervan

The Aude department is best known for its capital, Carcassonne, and the medieval citadel listed as a UNESCO world heritage site.

The double rampart enclosure, Comtal chateau, Saint-Nazaire basilica and the narrow lanes are must-see stops on your adventure. You'll be glad to get back to your campervan's calm and quiet interior once you're ready to head out to other Aude destinations. For those who enjoy underground beauty, you will want to stop at the giant Cabrespine cavern north of Carcassonne.
Just outside Narbonne, Charles Trénet's hometown, your van trip will lead you to the Narbonnaise en Méditerranée Natural Regional Park on the Mediterranean coast. This is a protected area that includes lagoons, salt evaporation ponds and vineyards. The Natural Park is also home to the Réserve Africaine de Sigean, a zoo with 3,800 animals. This area also includes the Saint-Pierre La Mer and Narbonne-Plage seaside resorts, the iconic city of Gruissan and its astonishing Plage des Chalets, along with Port La Nouvelle and La Palme, typical villages of the region.

Those looking for leisure can relax on the wide beaches with their fine sand, while those ready for more activity can take part in their favourite nautical sport, like windsurfing or catamaran sailing. Every year, Leucate-La Franqui hosts the Mondial du Vent, an international kitesurfing event. Leucate is also an oyster production area and its oysters are among the best in France. You'll enjoy sampling them in your campervan as you look out over the sea. It's the perfect recipe for a good time.
As you wander through Aude, you'll be traveling in an area where Catharism was once practiced. This was a medieval Christian religion that did not follow traditional Catholic rites and hierarchy. The Catholic Church considered it to be a dangerous religious trend, deeming it heretical and persecuting the Cathars. Since then, the legends surrounding them have only grown. By following the Sentier Cathare, you can explore remnants of this community, including architecture, the Quéribus, Peyrepertuse and Puilaurens chateaux, as well as the famous Château de Montségur, located at a key spot of Cathar resistance. Leave your rental campervan for a few hours to explore one or more stages of this long trail's 250 km on foot, horse or mountain bike.


Deep in the Haute-Vallée de l'Aude, you'll enter the Pyrénées Audoises where you can sample a range of mountain activities: hiking, whitewater sports, climbing, horse riding, cycling, mountain biking, fishing and caving. In winter, the family-friendly Camurac resort offers downhill or tour skiing opportunities. Your trip through Aude would not be complete without a stop at Canal du Midi, or visits to some of its architectural gems, magnificent monasteries (particularly the Fontfroide Abbey deep in Corbières), typical old towns like Alet les Bains, and the marble quarries in Caunes-Minervois. Lagrasse is another place you'll want to visit. It was ranked one of the most beautiful towns in France. Check out Lézignan-Corbières, as well. It's an example of Aube's strong wine and culinary traditions. In the evening, enjoy Corbières, Fitou, Minervois and Limoux wines, along with many other appellations, without worrying about moderation. After all, you're sleeping on-site and don't have to drive. Ah, vanlife... what a great way to travel!

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure in Aude from our WeVan rental location in Perpignan.

L'Aude en campervan

L'Aude, c'est d'abord son chef-lieu, la fameuse citadelle médiévale de Carcassonne, inscrite au Patrimoine Mondial de l'Unesco.

Sa double enceinte de remparts, son château comtal, sa basilique Saint-Nazaire et ses petites rues en font une étape incontournable de votre périple. Vous serez heureux de retrouver le calme de votre van aménagé pour repartir vers d'autres destinations audoises... Pour les aficionados des beautés du sous-sol, un détour s'impose au nord de Carcassonne pour découvrir le Gouffre géant de Cabrespine.
Aux portes de Narbonne, ville de naissance de Charles Trénet, votre périple en van vous conduira dans le Parc Naturel Régional de la Narbonnaise, au bord de la Méditerranée, un espace protégé où se mêlent lagunes, marias-salants et vignobles. Le Parc Naturel abrite la Réserve Africaine de Sigean et ses 3800 animaux. Vous y trouverez aussi les stations balnéaires de Saint-Pierre La Mer, Narbonne-Plage, le village typique de Gruissan et son étonnante Plage des Chalets, Port La Nouvelle, La Palme...

Les oisifs se détendront sur les grandes plages de sable fin pendant que les sportifs pratiqueront leurs activités nautiques : planche à voile, catamaran... La station balnéaire de Leucate-La Franqui reçoit, tous les ans, le Mondial du Vent, un rendez-vous international de kite-surf. Leucate, c'est aussi un centre de production ostréicole dont les huîtres sont parmi les meilleures de France. Vous aimerez les déguster à bord de votre campervan, face à la mer. Convivialité garantie !
En sillonnant l'Aude, vous voyagerez au coeur de ce que fut le catharisme, une religion médiévale chrétienne qui ne reconnaissait pas les rites et la hiérarchie catholique. L'église catholique, jugeant ce courant religieux dangereux, le décréta hérétique et persécuta les cathares. Depuis la légende qui les entoure n'a fait que croître et le Sentier Cathare vous permettra d'en découvrir quelques vestiges architecturaux, les châteaux de Quéribus, de Peyrepertuse, de Puilaurens et le fameux Château de Montségur, implanté sur l'emplacement d'un haut lieu de la résistance cathare. Vous abandonnerez votre fourgon aménagé de location pour quelques heures, afin d'accomplir, en randonnée à pied, à cheval ou en VTT, une ou plusieurs étapes de ce sentier long de 250km.

 

Au coeur de la Haute-Vallée de l'Aude, vous pénétrez dans les Pyrénées Audoises où toute la palette des activités de montagne s'offre à vous : randonnée, sports d'eau vive, escalade, équitation, cyclisme, VTT, pêche, spéléologie et l'hiver, la station familiale de Camurac vous permettra de pratiquer le ski alpin ou le ski de fond. La découverte de l'Aude ne saurait être complète sans une halte au bord du Canal du Midi, sans la visite de quelques-uns de ses joyaux architecturaux, ses magnifiques abbayes, notamment l'Abbaye de Fontfroide au coeur des Corbières, ses vieux villages typiques, Alet les Bains, Caunes-Minervois et ses carrières de marbre, Lagrasse, classé parmi les « Plus beaux villages de France », Lézignan-Corbières... L'Aude, c'est aussi un grand département viticole et gastronomique. Corbières, Fitou, Minervois, Limoux, autant de vins d'appellation que vous dégusterez le soir, sans modération car, évidemment, vous dormez sur place sans reprendre le volant... Ah, vanlife, quand tu nous tiens !

Pour votre périple dans l'Aude, en van aménagé, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Perpignan.