Tuscany by Campervan

Tuscany is where the Renaissance began and it is clearly one of Italy's most beautiful regions, filled with a wealth of architectural, gastronomical and wine growing heritage nestled into stunning landscapes.

People around the world dream of Tuscany. There's no better way to live this dream than with the freedom you get with a campervan.
Once you arrive from France, start your adventure in northern Tuscany with a detour to the famous Carrara marble quarries. They are so white that they make their mountain locations look as if they're covered in snow. A bit further on, you'll arrive in Pisa, where you'll find the famous Leaning Tower, which really is quite a sight. From Pisa, head towards Florence, stopping through the superb towns of Lucca (Lucques in French), Pistoia (at the base of the Apennines Mountains), and Prato (second largest town in Tuscany). Once in Florence, take some time to visit this place where the Medici once thrived, promoting artistic vibrancy in the area. Many great painters displayed their talent here, such as Fra Angelico, Paolo Uccello, Filippo Lippi and Sandro Botticelli. You'll come across a treasure trove of wonders as you stroll the streets, including the famous Duomo, Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio over the Arno river. The little roads that crisscross Chianti's beautiful countryside and vineyards will make you appreciate your Mercedes Marco Polo or Volkswagen California campervan's comfortable ride.

Chianti includes a sampling of Tuscany's most beautiful villages, like Badia a Passignano, Greve in Chianti, Panzano in Chianti and San Gimignano, which is a bit further on. It is listed as a UNESCO world heritage site and is known for its tower houses, some of which are more than 50m high. Each of these San Gimignano Towers was constructed to symbolise the patron family's power. Further south, your rental campervan will carry you into the narrow streets of another Tuscan gem: the town of Siena. Explore the Piazza del Campo, one of the most beautiful squares in the world. Every year, it hosts the Palio, an incredible inter-neighbourhood horse race.

If you still haven't slaked your thirst for iconic cities and towns, head east to Arezzo, which dates back to the Etruscan era. Then, travel south through the Umbria region, visiting the medieval city of Cortona, the towns of Pienza and Pitigliano, and the Montepulciano vineyard. You'll reach the Mediterranean Sea in southern Tuscany at the Argentario promontory in the province of Grosseto. Head back up the coast towards the Maremma Natural Park, then through Costa Fiorita's seaside resort towns, including Bibbona and Castiglioncello. You can also visit Elba Island and take your campervan along on the ferry. A van trip in Tuscany would not be complete without stopping to sample culinary specialities like Ravioli Nudi, Pappardelle alla lepre (hare), Calamari in zimino and Pollo alla fiorentina. You can also find many local products to eat on-site or in your campervan at the San Lorenzo de Florence Market. Indulge to your heart's content!

We suggest you set off on your campervan adventure through Tuscany from our WeVan rental location in Chambéry or Lyon.

La Toscane en van aménagé

La Toscane, berceau de la Renaissance, est incontestablement l'une des plus belles et plus riches régions d'Italie, que ce soit pour son patrimoine architectural, gastronomique et viticole, ou pour ses paysages.

La Toscane fait rêver le monde entier et pour vivre à fond ce rêve, rien ne vaut la liberté que procure la vie en van aménagé.
En arrivant de France, vous commencerez votre périple par le nord de la Toscane et plus précisément par Pise et sa fameuse Tour Penchée, vraiment très penchée... Avant d'arriver à Pise, vous aurez fait un détour par les fameuses Carrières de Marbre de Carrare, si blanches que, de loin, les sommets des montagnes qui les abritent, semblent couverts de neige. Depuis Pise, vous rejoindrez Florence, en passant par les superbes villes de Lucques ou Lucca en italien, Pistoia, au pied des Appenins et Prato, deuxième plus grande ville de Toscane. Vous vous arrêterez longuement à Florence, berceau des Médicis qui en favorisèrent le rayonnement artistique. De grands maîtres de la peinture tels Fra Angelico, Paolo Uccello, Filippo Lippi, Sandro Botticelli... y ont exprimé tout leur talent. Son fameux Duomo, sa Galerie des Offices, son Ponte Vecchio, sur l'Arno ne sont qu'un échantillon des merveilles que vous croiserez dans toutes les rues. Vous apprécierez le confort de conduite de votre Mercedes Marco Polo ou Volkswagen California sur les petites routes qui traversent les beaux paysages du Chianti et ses vignobles.

Le Chianti rassemble un échantillon des plus beaux villages toscans Badia a Passignano, Greve in Chianti, Panzano in Chianti et un peu plus loin, la petite ville de San Gimignano, inscrite sur la liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l'Unesco, célèbre pour ses maisons-tours dont certaines dépassent 50m de hauteur. Chacune de ces Tours de San Gimignano a été élevée pour symboliser la puissance de la famille commanditaire. Plus au sud, votre fourgon aménagé de location pénétrera dans les rues étroites d'une autre perle toscane, la ville de Sienne et sa Piazza del Campo, l'une des plus belles places du monde, où se déroule chaque année, le Palio, une incroyable course de chevaux inter-quartiers.

Si votre soif de villes et villages typiques n'est pas assouvie, vous vous dirigerez vers l'est et visiterez Arezzo dont l'origine remonte aux Etrusques, puis, en redescendant le long de la région de l'Ombrie, la ville médiévale de Cortone, les villages de Pienza et Pitigliano et le vignoble du Montepulciano. Vous rejoindrez la Mer Méditerranée, au sud de la Toscane, au Promontoire de l'Argentario, dans la province de Grosseto. Vous remonterez le long de la côte vers le Parc Naturel de la Maremme, puis les stations balnéaires dont celles de la Costa Fiorita : Bibbona, Castiglioncello... Vous pourrez aussi rejoindre l'Ile d'Elbe, en emmenant votre van avec vous, en ferry. Un van-trip en Toscane ne saurait être complet sans en avoir dégusté les spécialités culinaires:, Raviloi Nudi, Pappardelle alla lepre (lièvre), Calamari in zimino, Pollo alla fiorentina ... Vous trouverez aussi de nombreux produits locaux au Marché San Lorenzo de Florence, à déguster sur place ou dans votre campervan, sans modération.

Pour votre périple en van aménagé, en Toscane, nous vous suggérons de partir depuis votre agence de location WeVan Chambéry ou WeVan Lyon.